Gleitsman Citizen Activist Award

The Gleitsman Citizen Activist Award honors those who have struggled to correct social injustice in the United States (alternating years with international activists). The honoree, or honorees, receive $125,000 and a specially commissioned sculpture designed by Maya Lin, creator of the Vietnam War Memorial in Washington, DC. The award is not presented posthumously, nor is it granted to groups or organizations.


Rebecca Onie
Cofounder & CEO, Health Leads


Susan Burton
Founder, A New Way of Life Reentry Project


Bill Shore
Cofounder, Share Our Strength


Ron Grzywinski And Mary Houghton
Cofounders, ShoreBank

Gloria Steinem
Citizen activist extraordinaire

Julie Stewart
Founder, Families Against Mandatory Minimums


Christopher Barbic, Yvonne Chan, Michael Feinberg & David Levin, Bertha Lewis, Michelle Rhee, Mark Rosenbaum, J.B.Schramm, Agnes Stevens, Margot Stern Strom and Kevin Sved & Johnathan Williams


Mike Farrell
Believer in the intrinsic value of each human life, has, in various roles, sought to protect others, particularly those with little voice of their own

Mimi Silbert
Founder, Delancey Street Foundation


Dr. Jack Kevorkian
A pioneer in end-of-life issues

Bryan Stevenson
Founder, Equal Justice Initiative


Dr. Alan Blum, Stanton Glantz, Vice President Al Gore, Washington Attorney General Christine Gregoire, Dr. C. Everett Koop, Janet Carol Mangini, Congressman Henry Waxman, Jeffrey Wigand, Merrell Williams, and Patricia Young


Geraldine Jensen
Founder, Association for Children for the Enforcement of Support

Tanya Tull
Founder, Beyond Shelter


Wendy Kopp
Founder, Teach For America

Ralph Nader
Citizen activist, who has dedicated a lifetime to issues of public information, health and safety


Louis Clark
Executive Director, Government Accountability Project

William Wassmuth
Founder, The Northwest Coalition Against Malicious Harassment


Karen Nussbaum
Cofounder, 9 to 5, the National Association of Working Women

Ann Wilson
Chairperson of the Board of Commissioners, Housing Authority of the City of Milwaukee


Sophia Bracy Harris
Cofounder, Federation of Child Care Centers of Alabama

Deborah C. Mckeithan
Despite severe personal disabilities, created four national organizations to act as support networks for the disabled

Past members of the Citizen Activist Award Board of Judges:

David Ager, Senior Fellow, Harvard Business School
Aviva Argote
, Executive Director, Hauser Center for Nonprofit Organizations, Harvard University
Dr. Robert Coles, Professor of Psychiatry and Medical Humanities, Harvard Medical School
Morris S. Dees, Jr., Cofounder and Chief Trial Counsel, Southern Poverty Law Center Marshall Ganz, Senior Lecturer in Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School
David Gergen, Director, Center for Public Leadership, Harvard Kennedy School
Lois Gibbs , Environmental activist
Alan L. Gleitsman , Founder, Gleitsman Activist Awards
Karin Hayes, Filmmaker
Caroline Libresco, Senior Programmer, Sundance Institute
Candace Lightner, Founder, Mothers Against Drunk Driving
Sarah Newman, Research Manager, Participant Media
J.B. Schramm, Founder and CEO, College Summit, 2004 Gleitsman Award winner
Stanley Sheinbaum, Founding publisher, New Perspectives Quarterly
Gloria Steinem, Feminist and political activist