Sustainability Science Program

People

Global Environmental Risks (Social Learning Project)

People

The Social Learning Group represents a unique collaboration. Thirty-seven scholars from nine nations with disciplinary backgrounds ranging from the natural sciences through political science, science studies, and policy analysis worked together over a period of years to conceptualize, research, and write these books. Collectively and individually, the members of the Group are the books' authors. The final production was edited by William C. Clark and Nancy Dickson, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University; Jill Jäger, International Human Dimensions Programme on Global Environmental Change, Germany; and Josee van Eijndhoven, Rotterdam University, The Netherlands. The members of the Social Learning Group are listed; their contact information as of 2003 is listed below. For additional information, see the About the Authors appendix from the book.

Authors:

  • Jeannine Cavender-Bares
  • William C. Clark
  • Ellis Cowling
  • Nancy M. Dickson
  • Gerda Dinkelman
  • Rodney Dobell
  • Renate Ell
  • Adam Fenech
  • Alexander Ginzburg
  • Elena Goncharova
  • Peter Haas
  • Eva Hizsnyik
  • Michael Huber
  • Peter Hughes
  • Jill J?ger
  • Marc Levy
  • Angela Liberatore
  • Diana Liverman
  • Justin Longo
  • David McCabe
  • Donald Munton
  • Elena Nikitina
  • Karen O'Brien
  • Edward Parson
  • Vladimir Pisarev
  • Ruud Pleune
  • Miranda Schreurs
  • Simon Shackley
  • Peter Simmons
  • Heather Smith
  • Vassily Sokolov
  • Ferenc L. T?th
  • Jeroen van der Sluijs
  • Josee van Eijndhoven
  • Claire Waterton
  • Cor Worrell
  • Brian Wynne

Contact Information for Authors of Learning to Manage Global Environmental Risks

Last updated January 17, 2003

Dr. Jeannine Cavender-Bares
Smithsonian Environmental Research Center
647 Contees Wharf Road
Edgewater, MD 21037
USA
Office Tel: (1) 443 482 2472
Office Fax: (1) 443 482 2380
E-Mail: cavender@serc.si.edu

Dr. William C. Clark
Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs
Kennedy School of Government
Harvard University
79 J.F.K. Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
USA
Tel: (1) 617 495 3981
Fax: (1) 617 495 8963
E-Mail: william_clark@harvard.edu

Dr. Ellis Cowling
College of Forest Resources
1307 Glenwood Avenue, Suite 157
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC 27605
USA
Office Tel: (1) 919 515 7564
Home Tel: (1) 919 787 5733
Fax: (1) 919 515 1700
E-Mail: ellis_cowling@ncsu.edu

Ms. Nancy M. Dickson
Center for International Development
Kennedy School of Government
Harvard University
79 J.F.K. Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
USA
Tel: (1) 617 496 9469
Fax: (1) 617 496 8753
E-Mail: nancy_dickson@harvard.edu

Dr. Gerda Dinkelman
Advisory Council for Science and Technology Policy
Javastraat 42
2585 AP Den Haag
The Netherlands
Tel: (31) 7036 39922
Fax: (31) 7036 08992
E-Mail: g.h.dinkelman@awt.nl

Dr. Rodney Dobell
Professor of Public Policy
School of Public Administration
University of Victoria
Victoria, BC V8W 2Y2
Canada
Tel: (1) 250 721 6116
Fax: (1) 250 721 8849
E-Mail: rdobell@uvic.ca

Ms. Renate Ell
Wissenschaftsjournalistin
Sparkassenplatz 9
D-85276 Pfaffenhofen
Germany
Tel/Fax: (49) 08441 83251
E-Mail: ell@pfaffenhofen.de

Mr. Adam Fenech
Science Advisor, Office of the Director General
Atmospheric and Climate Science Directorate
Meteorological Service of Canada
4905 Dufferin Street, Room 3S102
Downsview, Ontario M4H 5T4
Canada
Tel: (1) 416 739 4267
Fax: (1) 416 739 4265
E-Mail: adam.fenech@ec.gc.ca

Dr. Alexander Ginzburg
Leading Research Fellow
Institute for Atmospheric Physics
Russian Academy of Sciences
3 Pyzhevsry per
Moscow, 109017
Russia
Home Tel: (7) 095 291 9824
Office Tel: (7) 095 951 2174
Fax: (7) 095 956 3586
E-Mail: ginzburg@ntserver.cis.lead.org

Ms. Elena Goncharova
Russian Information Agency News
4 Zubovsky bul.
Moscow, 119021
Russia
Tel: (7) 095 201 8712
Fax: (7) 090 230 2170
E-Mail: postmaster@rian.ru

Dr. Peter Haas
Professor, Graduate Program Director
Department of Political Science
Thompson Hall
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA 01003
USA
Tel: (1) 413 545 6174
Fax: (1) 413 545 3349
E-Mail: haas@polsci.umass.edu

Ms. Eva Hizsnyik
Ostpreussendamm 22a
12207 Berlin
Germany

Dr. Michael Huber
London School of Economics and Political Science
Centre for Analysis of Risk and Regulation (CARR)
Houghton Street
London WC2A 2AE
United Kingdom
Tel: (44) 0207 849 4630
Fax: (44) 0207 955 6578
E-Mail: M.Huber1@lse.ac.uk

Mr. Peter Hughes
School of Humanities and Social Sciences
University of Sunderland
Green Terrace
Sunderland, SR1 3PZ
United Kingdom
Tel: (44) 0191 515 2730
Fax: (44) 0191 515 2229
E-Mail: peter.hughes@sunderland.ac.uk

Dr. Jill Jager
Arbeiterstrandbadstr. 61
A. 1210
Vienna
Austria
Tel: (43) 1 263 2104
Fax: (43) 1 263 2104
E-Mail: fuj.jaeger@nextra.at

Mr. Marc Levy
CIESIN, Columbia University
PO Box 1000
61 Route 9W
Palisades, NY 10964
USA
Tel: (1) 845 365 8964
Fax: (1) 845 365 8922
E-Mail: marc.levy@ciesin.org

Dr. Angela Liberatore
Directorate General for Science, Research, & Development
Commission of the European Communities
SDME 4/55
Rue de la Loi 200
B 1049 Brussels
Belgium
Tel: (32) 2 295 2229
Fax: (32) 2 299 4462
E-Mail: angela.liberatore@cec.eu.int

Dr. Diana Liverman
Director, Environmental Change Institute
University of Oxford
5 South Parks Road
Oxford OX1 3UB
UK
Tel: (44) 1865 281180
Fax: (44) 1865 282181
E-Mail: diana.liverman@eci.ox.ac.uk

Mr. Justin Longo
Centre for Public Sector Studies
School of Public Administration
University of Victoria
P.O. Box 1700, STN CSC
Victoria, B.C. V8V 2Y2
Canada
Tel: (1) 250 721 6447
Fax: (1) 250 721 8849
E-Mail: jlongo@uvic.ca

Dr. David McCabe
1330 Orlando Drive
Haslett, MI 48840
USA
Tel: (1) 517 339 7972
E-mail: mccabel@pilot.msu.edu

Dr. Donald Munton
Chair, International Studies Programme
University of Northern British Columbia
P.O. Bag, 1950,
Prince George, B.C. V2M 5T2
Canada
Tel: (1) 250 960 6644
Fax: (1) 250 960 5544
E-Mail: munton@unbc.ca

Dr. Elena Nikitina
Senior Research Fellow
Institute of World Economy and International Relations
Russian Academy of Sciences
Profsouznaya st., 23
GSP-7 117997
Moscow
Russia
Tel/fax: (7) 095 132 2642
E-Mail: enikitina@mtu-net.ru

Dr. Karen O'Brien
Senior Research Fellow
Center for International Climate and Environmental Research
University of Oslo
P.O. Box 1129 Blindern
0317 Oslo
Norway
Tel: (47) 22 85 87 62
Fax: (47) 22 85 87 51
E-Mail: karen.obrien@cicero.uio.no

Dr. Edward Parson
Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs
J.F.K. School of Government
Harvard University
79 J.F.K. Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
USA
Tel: (1) 617 495 1404
Fax: (1) 617 495 8963
E-Mail: edward_parson@harvard.edu

Dr. Vladimir Pisarev
Senior Research Fellow
Russian Academy of Sciences
Institute for the USA and Canada
2/3 Khlebny per.
Moscow, 121814
Russia
Tel: (7) 095 202 9980
Fax: (7) 095 200 1207
E-Mail: ISKRAN@glasnet.ru

Dr. Ruud Pleune
Waterpakt
P.O. Box 90
8860 AB Harlingen
The Netherlands
Tel: (31) 57 745 6145
Fax: (31) 84 212 4739
E-Mail: ruud.pleune@waterpakt.nl

Dr. Miranda Schreurs
Dept. of Government and Politics
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-8221
USA
Tel: (1) 301 405 7797
Fax: (1) 301 314 9690
E-Mail: mschreurs@gvpt.umd.edu

Dr. Simon Shackley
Lecturer in Environmental Management and Policy
Manchester School of Management and UMIST Environment Programme
UMIST
Manchester M60 1QD
United Kingdom
Tel: (44) 0161 200 8781
Fax: (44) 0161 200 3505
E-Mail: Simon.Shackley@umist.ac.uk

Mr. Peter Simmons
Lecturer in Environmental Risk
School of Environmental Sciences
University of East Anglia
Norwich NR4 7TJ
United Kingdom
Tel: (44) 01603 593122
E-Mail: P.Simmons@uea.ac.uk

Dr. Heather Smith
International Studies Programme
University of Northern British Columbia
3333 University Way
Prince George, B.C., V2N 4Z9
Canada
Tel: (1) 250 960 6655
Fax: (1) 250 960 5794
E-Mail: smith@unbc.ca

Dr. Vassily Sokolov
Head, Department of Canada
Institute for the USA and Canada
2/3 Khlebny per.
Moscow, 121814
Russia
Tel: (7) 095 203 2250
Fax: (7) 095 200 1207 or (7) 095 956 3586
E-Mail: vsokol@host.cis.lead.org

Dr. Ferenc Toth
Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
Department of Global Change and Social Systems
P.O. Box 601203
D-14412 Potsdam
Germany
Tel: (49) 331 288 2554
Fax: (49) 331 288 2600
E-Mail: toth@pik-potsdam.de

Dr. Jeroen van der Sluijs
Department of Science Technology and Society
Utrech University
Padualaan 14
3584 CH Utrecht
The Netherlands
Tel: (31) 30 2537631
Fax: (31) 30 2537601
E-Mail: J.P.vanderSluijs@chem.uu.nl

Dr. Josee van Eijndhoven
The Rathenau Instituut
Koninginnegracht 56
The Hague
The Netherlands
Tel: (31) 70 342 1542
Fax: (31) 70 363 3488
E-Mail: josee@tob.net

Ms. Claire Waterton
IEPPP
Furness College
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YG
United Kingdom
Tel: (44) 01524 592674
Fax: (44) 01524 846339
E-Mail: c.waterton@lancaster.ac.uk

Cor Worrell
Acacialaan 5
3723 XA Bilthoven
The Netherlands
Tel/Fax: (31) 30 229 0179
E-Mail: cor_adje@mypad.com

Dr. Brian Wynne
IEPPP
Furness College
Lancaster University
Lancaster LA1 4YG
United Kingdom
Tel: (44) 01524 592653
Fax: (44) 01524 846339
E-Mail: b.wynne@lancaster.ac.uk

Print print | Email email