B&G PIC

BUSINESS AND GOVERNMENT PROFESSIONAL INTEREST COUNCIL (B&G PIC)
 
Associated with the Mossavar-Rahmani Center for Business and Government (M-RCBG), the Business & Government Professional Interest Council (B&G PIC) serves as a forum for HKS Students interested in careers, partnerships, and innovations at the intersection of business and government.

How to get involved

  • Join our Facebook page to learn more about our events, opportunities, and student perspectives!  Elections for leadership positions will be held at the beginning of the fall term. 

B&G PIC Leadership Team
2014-15

Hany Beshr, Co-Chair.  Hany is a mid-career MPA in the Edward S. Mason Program at HKS.  Previously he was a management consultant with Booz Allen Hamilton and KPMG in the Middle East.  He worked with government clients on economic development projects, focusing on the role of private sector in development.  He served as Advisor to the Cairo Governor on the relations between government and private sector. hany_beshr@hks15.harvard.edu

Paul Chen, Co-Chair.  Paul is a dual degree candidate between HKS (MPA) and Stanford (MBA).  Upon graduating from the University of Virginia, Paul worked for Jefferies, a NYC-based financial institution.  While in graduate schools, Paul is interested in the intersection between business and government.  After school, Paul wants to continue deepening his understanding of the global financial market.  This coming summer Paul will be working for Goldman Sachs in New York.  Born in Chengdu, China, Paul spent his first 15 years in the hometown of pandas.  Outside of work, he is interested in food, traveling, reading and inter-faith dialogues.
paul_chen@hks15.harvard.edu


Taniel Chan and Matthew Hellauer
VPs of Operations and Finance
taniel_chan@hks16.harvard.edu; matthew_hellauer@hks16.harvard.edu

Helena Fruscio
VP of Communication
helena_fruscio@hks15.harvard.edu

Committee Chairs

Andrew Deye
Chair, Public Private Partnerships Committee
andrew_deye@hks15.harvard.edu

Robert Greene
Chair, Regulation Committee
robert_greene@hks16.harvard.edu

Adil Islam
Chair, Economic Development Committee
adil_islam@hks16.harvard.edu

Priscilla Rouyer
Chair, Social Enterprise Committee
priscilla_rouyer@hks16.harvard.edu

Sarah Jaichen Zhang
Chair, Creative Economy Committee
jaichen_sarah_zhang@hks14.harvard.edu

Jonathan Welle
Chair, Corporate Social Responsibility Committee
Jonathan_Welle@hks15.harvard.edu

Events

  • Speed Networking with Senior Fellows from M-RCBG and other HKS research centers, organized once each semester
  • Annual Davos Debrief, a first-hand behind-the-scenes account of events at the World Economic Forum annual meeting in Davos, Switzerland, from Harvard faculty who attend
  • Social mixers with club members
  • Brown bag lunch discussions with CSR practitioners
  • Speaker events with NGO advocates on business and human rights issues

Professional Opportunities

  • Chance to network with other HKS students interested in business & government
  • Invitations to select HBS social enterprise, CSR, and government club events
  • Chance to network with M-RCBG center staff and senior fellows and other visiting government officials, business professionals, and academics
  • Research opportunities with M-RCBG
  • Targeted internship and full-time job opportunities compiled by OCA and distributed exclusively to PIC members
  • Case competitions, research paper competitions, brown bag lunches, and other events solely targeted at those students interested in this sector
  • Corporate social responsibility report feedback sessions with private sector CSR departments

Funding Opportunities

  • Apply for summer internship and PAE/SYPA funding through M-RCBG
  • Other scholarship opportunities

Social Opportunities

  • Chance to network with other HKS & HBS students interested in business & government at club mixers and other select events
Print print | Email email