Rappaport Institute horizontal images

Rappaport Boston Urban Scholars

Current Rappaport/Boston Urban Scholars

Linda Dorcena Forry

State Representative Linda Dorcena Forry grew up in Dorchester’s Uphams Corner neighborhood, where her parents settled after emigrating to the United States from Haiti in the mid 1960s. Upon her election to the Massachusetts House of Representatives in 2005, Representative Forry became the second Haitian American to hold public office in Massachusetts. She is the House Chair of the Joint Committee on Community Development and Small Business and is a member of the Special Joint Committee on Redistricting.

Theresa Lynn

Theresa Lynn is the executive director of ReadBoston, a nonprofit children’s literacy program founder by Boston Mayor Thomas M. Menino. ReadBoston’s mission is to have all children in Boston reading at grade level by the end of third grade. Prior to her work at ReadBoston, she was the campaign director for the YMCA of Greater Boston. She holds an MBA from Boston University’s School of Management and received a BA from the College of the Holy Cross.

Carl Sciortino State Representative Carl Sciortino has been a state representative since 2005, representing the 34th Middlesex district, which includes sections of Medford and Somerville. He is a member of the Joint Committees on Public Health, Transportation and Ways and Means. He also serves on the House Committees of Bonding, Capital Expenditures, and State Assets and on Ways and Means. He received a BA from Tufts University.

Former Rappaport Urban Scholars Year
State Representative Steven Walsh (D-Lynn), House Chair, Joint Committee on Health Care Financing 2012
Mayor Joseph Curtatone, City of Somerville 2011
State Representative Jeffrey Sanchez (D-Jamaica Plain), House Chair, Joint Committee on Public Health 2010
Joseph Driscoll, Senior Vice President, O'Neill & Associates 2009
State Representative Alice Peisch (D-Wellesley), House Chair, Joint Committee on Education 2009
Barbara Salfity, U.S. General Services Administration 2007
Mark Falzone, Consultant, former State Representative 2007
State Representative William Straus (D-Mattapoisett), House Chair, Joint Committee on Transportation 2007
Tim Davis, Consultant 2005
State Senator Thomas Kennedy (D-Brockton), Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure 2005
Brad Swing, Mayor's Office of Environmental Services 2004
Mayor Joseph Sullivan, City of Braintree, former State Representative 2004
Katherine Kottaridis, Historic Boston, Inc. 2003
State Senator Barry Finegold (D-Andover), Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Election Laws 2003
Rachel Kaprielian, Registrar of Motor Vehicles, former State Representative 2003
Peter Koutoujian, Middlesex County Sheriff, former State Representative 2003
Charles Murphy, consultant, former State Representative 2002
Carol Blair, OnwardVia 2001
Joseph LaRusso, Energy Efficiency and Renewable Finance Manager, City of Boston 2000
Jack Hart, Nelson Mullins, and former State Representative 2000
Lillian Shirley, Director, Multnomah County and Portland, Oregon Health Department 1999
State Representative Kevin Honan (D-Brighton), House Chair, Joint Committee on Housing 1999
Bryan Glascock, Department of the Environment, City of Boston 1998
Honorable Stephen Lynch, U.S. House of Representatives 1998
Antonio Torres, Massachusetts Housing Finance Agency 1996
Maureen Flynn, Coalition for Occupied Homes in Foreclosure 1995
John Munier, Boston Development Group 1994
Theresa Bourgeois, Assistant to the President for Media and Public Relations, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute 1993
John Mills, Director, National Network of Sector Partners, Insight Center for Economic Development 1992
James Jordan, Criminal Justice Consultant, Strategic Solutions for Criminal Justice Organizations 1991
Honorable Justice Robert Rufo, Massachusetts Superior Court 1991
John McDonough, Professor of the Practice of Public Health and Director of the Center for Public Health Leadership at Harvard School of Public Health, former Special Advisor on Health Care, Senator Edward Kennedy, and former State Representative 1990
Jeffrey Cronin, City of Pasadena, California 1990
James Brett, The New England Council, former State Representative 1989
Susan Tracy, The Strategy Group, former State Representative 1989
Thomas Bledsoe, Housing Partnership Group 1987
Kevin McCluskey, Director of Public Affairs, Massachusetts Water Resources Authority, former Senior Director of Community Affairs, Harvard University and former Boston School Committee Member 1986
Priscilla Teague, Boston 1986
Richard Rouse, Boston, former State Representative 1986
Thomas Vallely, Vietnam Program, Harvard University, former State Representative 1983

In Memoriam

Bruce Bolling, MassAlliance, former Boston City Councilor 1985

Print print | Email email
Professor Jeff Liebman and Representative Charles Murphy

Professor Jeff Liebman and Representative Charles Murphy