Class Day Awards

Class Day Awards

The Women and Public Policy Program offers three awards on HKS Class Day. All nominations were due Friday May 9, 2014 by 5 pm, submitted via email to Naisha Bradely at Recipients are presented their award on Class Day.

Barbara Jordan Award for Women’s Leadership

This award honors one graduating student at Harvard Kennedy School for her/his commitment to building community and for serving as a role model for women aspiring to be leaders.

2013 recipient: Leila El-Khatib

Holly Taylor Sargent Prize for Women’s Advancement

This prize will be awarded to a member of the Harvard Kennedy School community (faculty, staff or student) who has done the most to advance the opportunities, situation and status of women within the HKS community.

2013 recipient: Melissa Sandgren

Jane Mansbridge Research Award

This award recognizes an outstanding research paper (PAE, SYPA, etc.) whose analysis of an organization or topic is focused on women or gender.

2013 recipient: Laura McGorman, PAE title, "Crossing over to a male-dominated sector: The effects of exposure, role models, and information on Ugandan female entrepreneur’s industry choices"

Print print | Email email