Harvard Political Networks Conference
Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Travel and Hotel Info
 
Day 2: June 12
Presentations, Poster Session
and Keynote Address

Presentation Information
Presenters should prepare to speak for approximately 30 minutes. Projection equipment will be provided, but presenters will need to bring their own laptops (and adapters for Macs).

8:00am-9:00am Continental Breakfast & Registration
CGIS South Building Concourse

9:00am-10:30am Presentations

Panel 1
Tsai Auditorium (Room S010)

Healing the Rift? Social Networks and Reconciliation between Obama and Clinton Convention Delegates in 2008
Michael Heaney
University of Florida, mtheaney@ufl.edu
Co-Authors: Seth Masket, University of Denver; Joanne Miller, University of Minnesota; Dara Z. Strolovitch, University of Minnesota

It's Not Personal; It's Strictly Business: A Social Networks Analysis of Internal Party Cleavages, 1972-2008
Hans Noel
University of Michigan, hansnoel@umich.edu

Panel 2
Belfer Case Study Room (Room S020)

Social Networks and the Mass Media
David Siegel
Florida State University, dsiegel@fsu.edu

Social Politics: The Contagion of Political Behavior
Betsy Sinclair
University of Chicago, betsy@uchicago.edu

Panel 3
Room S250

Disagreeing About Disagreement
Scott McClurg
Southern Illinois University, mcclurg@siu.edu
Co-Authors: Casey Klofstad, University of Miami; Anand Sokhey, Ohio State University

Political influence dynamics in 14 incipient and immersive social networks
Brian Rubineau
Cornell University, brubineau@cornell.edu
Co-Authors: David Lazer, Harvard University; Michael Neblo, Ohio State University

10:30am-10:45am Break

10:45am-12:15pm Presentations

Panel 1
Tsai Auditorium (Room S010)

Unsolved at any speed: the role of information flow in problem-solving and innovation
Daniel Enemark
University of California, San Diego, denemark@ucsd.edu
Co-Authors: Ramamohan Paturi, University of California, San Diego; Mathew McCubbins, University of California, San Diego

Expertise and Bias in Political Communication
Alex Mayer
University of California, Davis, akmayer@ucdavis.edu
Co-Authors: T.K. Ahn, Korea University; Alex K. Mayer, University of California, Davis; John B. Ryan, University of California, Davis

Panel 2
Belfer Case Study Room (Room S020)

Lethal Connections: What explains why some terrorist organizations are highly networked while others are unconnected?
Victor Asal
University at Albany SUNY, vasal@email.albany.edu
Co-Authors: Hyun Hee, University at Albany SUNY; R. Karl Rethemeyer, University at Albany SUNY

Revolving Doors and Foreign Policy Collective Decision-Making: A Network Analysis
Renato Corbetta
University of Alabama-Birmingham, corbetta@uab.edu
Co-Authors: Charles Gibson, University of Alabama-Birmingham; Benjamin Hall, University of Alabama-Birmingham

Panel 3
Room S250

Social Network Analysis in Program Evaluation: Measuring the Impact of the State Health Leadership Initiative on the Creation of Social Capital
Ines Mergel
Syracuse University, iamergel@maxwell.syr.edu
Co-Author: David Lazer, Harvard University

Network Structure and Social Capital
John T Scholz
Florida State University, jscholz@fsu.edu
Co-Authors: Ramiro Berardo, University of Arizona; Meredith Whiteman, Florida State University

12:15pm-1:30pm Break for Lunch

1:30pm-3:00pm Presentations

Panel 1
Tsai Auditorium (Room S010)

Political Discussion Networks and the Structure of Deliberation
Sandra Gonzalez-Bailon
Oxford Internet Institute, sandra.gonzalezbailon@oii.ox.ac.uk

Surge and Decline in Facebook Support: The 2008 Congressional Election Cycle
Christine Williams
Bentley University, cwilliams@bentley.edu
Co-Author: Girish J. "Jeff" Gulati, Bentley University

Panel 2
Belfer Case Study Room (Room S020)

The Effect of Social Networks on the Quality of Thinking about Policies
Elif Erisen
Cal Poly, eerisen@calpoly.edu
Co-Author: Cengiz Erisen, Stony Brook University

Sources of Salience: How Citizens' Interactions Shape Salient Economic Issues
Daniel Hopkins
Harvard University, dhopkins@iq.harvard.edu

Panel 3
Room S250

The m-STAR Model of Dynamic, Endogenous Interdependence and Network-Behavior Coevolution in Comparative & International Political Economy
Robert Franzese
University of Michigan, franzese@umich.edu
Co-Authors: Jude C. Hays, University of Illinois; Aya Kachi, University of Illinois

Rules and Relations in Comparative Politics: Connecting the dots between formal and informal institutions
Armando Razo
Indiana University, arazo@indiana.edu

3:00pm-3:15pm Break

3:15pm-5:15pm Presentations

Panel 1
Tsai Auditorium (Room S010)

A Social Network Analysis of American Tax Jurisprudence (1990-2008)
Lilian V. Faulhaber
Harvard Law School, lfaulhab@law.harvard.edu
Co-Author: Daniel Katz, University of Michigan

The Development of Community Structure in the Supreme Court's Network of Citations
Daniel Katz
University of Michigan, dmartink@umich.edu
Co-Authors: Jon Zelner, University of Michigan; Michael Bommarito, University of Michigan; James Spriggs, Washington University, St. Louis; James Fowler, University of California, San Diego

Legal Precedents, Judicial Discretion, & Diffusion of the Strict Liability Rule for Manufacturing Defects, 1962-87
Donald Smythe
California Western School of Law, DSmythe@cwsl.edu
Co-Author: Robert Bird, University of Connecticut

Panel 2
Belfer Case Study Room (Room S020)

The Implications of Political Networks on the Career Decisions of State Legislators
Stella Rouse
University of Maryland, srouse@gvpt.umd.edu
Co-Authors: Kathleen A. Bratton, Louisiana State University; Jas Sullivan, Louisiana State University

All Politics Is (Not) Local: The Structure of Lobbying in North Carolina
John Scott
University of North Carolina, jcscott@email.unc.edu
Co-Author: Jeff Summerlin-Long, University of North Carolina

Panel 3
Room S250

Qualitative Computational Research: An Example from Southern Thailand
Rebecca Goolsby
Office of Naval Research, rebecca.goolsby@gmail.com

Do Self-Organizing Communities Garner More Success?
Manoj Shrestha
University of Idaho, mks@uidaho.edu

5:15pm-5:30pm Set Up Posters
CGIS South Building Concourse

5:30pm-7:30pm Happy Hour/Poster Session
CGIS South Building Concourse

Click here for the list of poster presentations.

Poster presenters will each be provided with a 40" x 30" foam board for their presentations. The boards will be displayed in a "portrait" orientation during the poster session.

7:30pm-8:30pm Keynote Address
Tsai Auditorium (Room S010)

Outstanding Scientific Impact: Formation and Performance patterns of Scientists' Collaboration Networks
Brian Uzzi
Northwestern University, uzzi@kellogg.northwestern.edu

Please note that this preliminary program is subject to change.

 

Return to Harvard Political Networks Conference home.


 

 

JOHN F. KENNEDY SCHOOL OF GOVERNMENT JOHN F. KENNEDY SCHOOL OF GOVERNMENT HARVARD UNIVERSITY