Harvard Political Networks Conference
Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Travel and Hotel Info
 
Jump to:
A-G
H-K
L-O
P-Z
Poster Session

Plenary Poster Presentations (by last name)

Gravity's Rainbow: the perils of p-values in bilateral models of international commerce
John Ahlquist
University of California, Los Angeles, jahlquist@irle.ucla.edu
Co-Author: Michael D. Ward, University of Washington

The Trust Network: Social Distance, Cost, and Trade
Jeffrey Carnegie
New York University, jac724@nyu.edu

Social Network Structure and Political Mobilization
Kevin Collins
Princeton University, kwcollin@princeton.edu

Policy goals, policy positions and the outcomes of dynamic policy networks
Adrie Dassen
Center for Higher Education Policy Studies (CHEPS) - University of Twente, a.dassen@utwente.nl

Application of Social Network Analysis Approach on Terrorist Networks: ETO Case
Fatih Demiroz
University of Central Florida, fdemiroz@mail.ucf.edu

Protecting the "duality of persons and groups": A Two-Mode Analysis of Nonprofits in the Power Elite
Scott Dolan
University at Albany, SUNY, sd0714@albany.edu

Constraint and communication in networked coordination games
Daniel Enemark
University of California, San Diego, denemark@ucsd.edu
Co-Authors: Mathew McCubbins, University of California, San Diego; Ramamohan Paturi, University of California, San Diego; Nicholas Weller, University of Southern California

At the Edge of Liberty: Proximity and Diffusion in the Human Rights Space
Christopher Fariss
University of California, San Diego, cjf0006@gmail.com
Co-Author: Keith Schnakenberg, San Diego State University

Has Barack Obama Read Ron Burt?
Stephen Garcia
Philosophy IB, sgarcia@philosophyib.com
Co-Authors: D. Linda Garcia, Georgetown University; Lauren Alfrey, Georgetown University

Why did they march? Networks, beliefs and policy change.
John Gasper
University of Pennsylvania, jtgasper@gmail.com
Co-Author: Cristina Bicchieri, University of Pennsylvania

Status Signals and Network Ties of First-Term Members of Congress
Scott Golder
Cornell University, sag262@cornell.edu

How Do Organizations Choose Their Forms of Participation?: Civil Society Behavior in the European Climate Change Network
Jennifer Hadden
Cornell University, jlh242@cornell.edu

Evolution of NVOAD Disaster Response Network: From Federal Response to National Response Framework
Zafar Hasanov
University of Central Florida, zafar_hasanov@yahoo.com

Partisan Polarization and Abortion Debate: Social Network Analysis of Ideational Structure
Rentaro Iida
Georgetown University, ri34@georgetown.edu

Patterns of Political Participation: An Entailment Analysis
Lorien Jasny
University of California, Irvine, ljasny@uci.edu

Network Dynamics in Congressional Coalition Building
Alexander Jerneck
University of Pennsylvania, ajerneck@sas.upenn.edu

The Impact of European Union Pressure on Immigration and Asylum Policies in Romania: a Structural Account of the Decision-Making Process
Flavia Raluca Jurje
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, flavia.jurje@eup.gess.ethz.ch

Why do Assembly members change their opinions in voting?: The effect of political network constraints in voting behavior
Lanu Kim
Seoul National University, lanukim7@gmail.com

Congressional Co-sponsorships Reconsidered: New Evidence from the U.S. House of Representatives
Vladimir Kogan
University of California, San Diego, vkogan@ucsd.edu
Co-Authors: Craig Burnett, University of California, San Diego; Hans Hassell, University of California, San Diego; Andrew Scott Waugh, University of California, San Diego

Moral Disagreement and Political Tolerance
Carrie Konold
University of Michigan, ckonold@umich.edu

Coping with media abundance: A network analytic approach to understanding repertoires of news and partisan media use across TV and the Internet
Thomas Ksiazek
Northwestern University, tom.ksiazek@u.northwestern.edu

Using Citation Analysis to Improve Theory in Public Administration
Jesse Lecy
Syracuse University, jdlecy@syr.edu
Co-Authors: Ines Mergel, Syracuse University; Hans Peter Schmitz, Syracuse University

Leading Shareholder Activists' Networks: Mobilizing Strategies in Social Movements
Jegoo Lee
Boston College, jegoo.lee@bc.edu

Competitors, Collaborators, and Interlocal Collaboration: Quadratic Assignment Procedure (QAP) Analysis in Orlando Metropolitan Area
In Won Lee
Florida State University, iwl04@fsu.edu
Co-Author: Richard C. Feiock, Florida State University

Strategic Collaboration among Public, Private, and Nonprofit Organizations for Tampa Economic Development
Youngmi Lee
Florida State University, yl06e@fsu.edu
Co-Author: Richard C. Feiock, Florida State University

Collaboration through a Network: Centrality and Homophily in the C40 Cities Climate Change Leadership Group
Taedong Lee
University of Washington, taedong2@u.washington.edu

The analysis of political discourse networks
Philip Leifeld
Max Planck Institute, Leifeld@coll.mpg.de

Policy beliefs, participatory processes, and the interactions of stakeholders
Jewlya Lynn
University of Colorado at Denver, Jewlya@csi-policy.org

Modeling Political Diffusion Phenomena Using Reality Mining
Anmol Madan
MIT Media Lab, anmol@mit.edu
Co-Authors: David Lazer, Harvard University; Alex (Sandy) Pentland, MIT Media Lab

The future of global finance: a network perspective
Raffaele Mauro
Bocconi University, raffa.mauro@gmail.com
Co-Author: Alessandro Aresu, Università Vita-Salute San Raffaele

U.S. Supreme Court Amicus Briefs Filed by Attorneys General: A Network Connection?
Maureen Mohan
Southern Illinois University, MaureenEMohan@gmail.com

Won't you Join Us? A Social Networks Analysis of Expansion of Militarised Interstate Disputes
Shweta Moorthy
University of Illinois, smoorth2@illinois.edu

Social Networks within Policy Networks: The Case of Maine's Climate Change Action Plan
Teague Morris
University of Southern Maine, tmorris@fairpoint.net

The Ties that Bind: A Network Analysis of Human Rights INGOs
Amanda Murdie
Emory University, amurdie@emory.edu
Co-Authors: David R. Davis, Emory University; David V. Brewington, Emory University

The evolving party network
Jukka-Pekka Onnela
Harvard University, jp_onnela@hks.harvard.edu
Co-Author: David Lazer, Harvard University

Knowledge Diffusion and Fragmentation in Political Science Research Networks
Bulent Ozel
Istanbul Bilgi University, bulento@bilgi.edu.tr
Co-Author: Beyza Oba, Istanbul Bilgi University

Towards a New Transatlantic Partnership: Science, Society, Governance, and the Power of Networks in Creating Synergistic Linkages
Gabriella Paar-Jakli
Kent State University, gjakli@kent.edu

Public-private partnerships in the global agri-food system
Peter W. B. Phillips
University of Saskatchewan, pwp392@mail.usask.ca
Co-Authors: Bill Boland, University of Saskatchewan; Camille D. Ryan, University of Saskatchewan

The Use of Social Network Analysis to Study the Impact of Service Learning on Building Civic Engagement
Rakhi Poonia
Rutgers University, rakhip@pegasus.rutgers.edu

Networking Practices for the Provision of Affordable Housing in Phoenix
Edgar Ramirez de la Cruz
Arizona State, Edgar.Ramirezdelacruz@asu.edu

The Social Basis of Legislative Organization
Jon Rogowski
University of Chicago, jrogowski@uchicago.edu
Co-Authors: Betsy Sinclair, University of Chicago; James Fowler, University of California, San Diego

Systems of Belief as Networks
Alexander Ruiz Euler
University of California, San Diego, rruizeuler@ucsd.edu

The Influence of School and Peer Networks on Social Integration and Political Behavior
Jaime Settle
University of California, San Diego, jsettle@ucsd.edu

Deliberative Diffusion: Spillover Effects of Citizen-Representative Discussion
Anand Sokhey
Ohio State University, sokhey.2@osu.edu
Co-Authors: David Lazer, Harvard University; Michael Neblo, Ohio State University; Kevin Esterling, University of California, Riverside

Measuring Social Networks: Experimentation in Name Generation
Anand Sokhey
Ohio State University, sokhey.2@osu.edu
Co-Authors: Paul Djupe, Denison University

Informed Decisions and War
Wayne Thornton
Harvard University, thornton@fas.harvard.edu

My Brother's Keeper: The Impact of Third-Party Sanctioning on Social Network Dynamics
Magnus Torfason
Columbia University, mtt2108@columbia.edu

Why do transnational NGOs network? Exploring the role of formal and informal relationships
Lorena Viñuela
Syracuse University, iamergel@maxwell.syr.edu

Modeling Social Interaction and Collaboration among Graduate Students
Ranran Wang
University of Washington, ranranw@u.washington.edu
Co-Authors: James A. Kitts, Columbia University; Mark S. Handcock, University of Washington

Please note that this preliminary program is subject to change.

 

Return to Harvard Political Networks Conference home.


 

 

JOHN F. KENNEDY SCHOOL OF GOVERNMENT JOHN F. KENNEDY SCHOOL OF GOVERNMENT HARVARD UNIVERSITY