The Harvard Networks in Political Science Conference
June 13-14, 2008

Paper presenters, Poster presenters and NSF-funded attendees
[click here] to register for the conference

Members of the general public wishing to attend
[click here] to register for the conference

Conference Schedule

A Harvard discount has been secured at Flashprint in Harvard Square for printing needs while in Cambridge. A 3 minute walk from the Kennedy School, it is located downstairs and across the street from Peet's Coffee. Orders can be made on the Flashprint website ahead of time. Be sure to mention the complete name of the conference with your online order. If you place an order in person, ask for Derek or Alan and mention the conference name.

FlashPrint
99 Mt. Auburn Street
Cambridge, MA  02138
617.492.7767
www.flashprint.com
info@flashprint.com

 
**If you note any errors in the program, please contact: netgov@ksg.harvard.edu
 

June 12 – Plenary Reception

7:00pm-9:00pm: Welcome Reception and Orientation (Kennedy School Forum)

 

David Lazer
Harvard University, david_lazer@harvard.edu
James Fowler
University of California, San Diego, jhfowler@ucsd.edu


June 13 – Network Applications in Political Science

8:00am-9:00am Continental Breakfast & Registration (Taubman Rotunda)

9:00am-10:30am Presentations

Panel 1 Wiener Auditorium

Detecting Spillover in Social Networks: Design and Analysis of Multi-level Experiments
Margaret Anne McConnell
California Institute of Technology, mmcconnell@hss.caltech.edu
Betsy Sinclair
University of Chicago
Donald P. Green
Yale University

Can Voter Turnout Contaminate a Neighborhood?
David W. Nickerson
University of Notre Dame, david.w.nickerson@gmail.com
Avi Feller
Oxford University, avi.feller@gmail.com

Panel 2 Taubman Nye-A 5th Floor Taubman Building (elevator access only)

Network Analysis for International Relations
Alexander H. Montgomery
Reed College, ahm@reed.edu
Miles Kahler
UCSD, mkahler@ucsd.edu
Emilie M. Hafner-Burton
Princeton, ehafner@princeton.edu

Dyads de novo?  State pair origins and international relations
Andrew J Enterline
University of North Texas, ajenter@unt.edu
Israel Stephens
University of North Texas, israel.stephens@gmail.com
Kyle Joyce
University of California, Davis, kylejoyce@gmail.com

Panel 3 Room T-275 Second Floor Taubman Building (stairs or elevator access)

Civic Talk and Civic Participation: Do Your Own Characteristics Matter?
Casey A. Klofstad
University of Miami, klofstad@gmail.com

[PDF] [Slides] Social Networks and Correct Voting
Scott D. McClurg
Southern Illinois University, mcclurg@siu.edu
Anand Sohkey
Ohio State University

10:30am-10:45am Break

10:45am-12:15pm Presentations

Panel 1 Wiener Auditorium

It's All Connected: The Ubiquity of Networks in Strategic Environments
John W. Patty
Harvard University, jpatty@gov.harvard.edu

Preference for Similarity and Information Collection in Groups
Leeat Yariv
California Institute of Technology, lyariv@hss.caltech.edu
Maria Giovanna Baccara
NYU

Panel 2 Taubman Nye-A 5th Floor Taubman Building (elevator access only)

[PDF] [Slides] Analyzing Actor Networks While Assuming "Frame Rationality"
Pieter Bots
Delft University of Technology, pieter.bots@cemagref.fr

[Slides] Network Polarization: Theory and Application
Zeev Maoz
University of California, Davis, zmaoz@ucdavis.edu

Panel 3 Room T-275 Second Floor Taubman Building (stairs or elevator access)

[PDF] Partisan Webs:  Information Exchange and Party Networks
Gregory Koger
University of Miami, gkoger@miami.edu
Seth Masket
University of Denver, smasket@du.edu
Hans Noel
Georgetown University, hcn4@georgetown.edu

Congressional Caucuses as Legislators’ Social Networks
Jennifer Nicoll Victor
University of Pittsburgh, jnvictor@pitt.edu
Nils Ringe
University of Wisconsin, Madison ringe@wisc.edu

12:15pm-1:30pm Lunch

1:30pm-3:00pm Presentations

Panel 1 Wiener Auditorium

Mapping Iran’s Online Public: Politics and Culture in the Persian Blogosphere
John Kelly
Columbia University, kjw1@columbia.edu
Bruce Etling
Berkman Center, Harvard Law School, betling@cyber.law.harvard.edu

[Slides] Mining Political Blog Networks
Wojciech Gryc
IBM TJ Watson Research Center, wgryc@us.ibm.com
Yan Liu
Predictive Modeling Group IBM TJ Watson Research Center
Prem Melville

Predictive Modeling Group IBM TJ Watson Research Center
Claudia Perlich
Predictive Modeling Group IBM TJ Watson Research Center
Richard D. Lawrence
Predictive Modeling Group IBM TJ Watson Research Center

Panel 2 Taubman Nye-A 5th Floor Taubman Building (elevator access only)

A Reason to Stay:  Networking and Retention in State Legislatures
Kathleen A. Bratton
Louisiana State University, bratton@lsu.edu
Stella Rouse
Louisiana State University, srouse1@lsu.edu
Natasha Bingham
Louisiana State University, nbingh1@lsu.edu
Kerry Haynie
Duke University, klhaynie@duke.edu

Political Networks and the Impact of Term Limits
Delia Bailey
Washington University in St. Louis, dbailey@wustl.edu
Betsy Sinclair
University of Chicago, betsy@uchicago.edu

Panel 3 Room T-275 Second Floor Taubman Building (stairs or elevator access)

Hybrid Identities and Cross-Movement Networks: Mobilizing the American Antiwar Movement
Michael T. Heaney
University of Florida, mtheaney@ufl.edu

Social Networks in Black and White: Similarities, Differences and Consequences
Tetsuya Matsubayashi
University of North Texas, tmatsubayashi@unt.edu
Jan E. Leighley
University of Arizona

3:00pm-3:15pm Break

3:15pm-4:45pm Presentations

Panel 1 Wiener Auditorium

Network structure and collective good provision
Matthew McCubbins
University of California, San Diego, mmccubbins@ucsd.edu
Mohan Paturi
Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University of California, San Diego
Nick Weller
University of California, San Diego

Dynamic Elicited Priors for Updating Covert Networks
John R. Freeman
University of Minnesota, freeman@polisci.umn.edu
Jeff Gill
Washington University St. Louis, jgill@wustl.edu

Panel 2 Taubman Nye-A 5th Floor Taubman Building (elevator access only)

Assessing Virtual Issue Networks: Transnational Advocacy in Real and Cyber Space
Charli Carpenter
University of Pittsburgh, charli.carpenter@gmail.com

INGOs in International Affairs: an Agent-Based Model
Emily Clough
University of North Texas, eclough@unt.edu
Elizabeth Bloodgood
Concordia University

Panel 3 Room T-275 Second Floor Taubman Building (stairs or elevator access)

[PDF] Self-Organizing Policy Networks: Risk, Partner Selection and Cooperation in Estuaries
John T. Scholz
Florida State University , john.scholz@fsu.edu
Ramiro Berardo
University of Arizona, berardo@email.arizona.edu

Institutions, Cooperation, and Political Power in an Ecology of Games
Mark Lubell PhD
University of California, Davis, mnlubell@ucdavis.edu
Adam Henry
University of California, Davis,
Mike McCoy
University of California, Davis,

5:00pm-7:00pm Happy Hour and Poster Session located in the Kennedy School Forum

 


June 14 – Network Applications in Political Science

8:30am-9:00am Continental Breakfast

9:00am-10:30am Presentations

Panel 1 Wiener Auditorium

[PDF] Multiparametric Spatio-Temporal Autoregression as a Simple Approach to Modeled, Dynamic, and/or Endogenous Interdependence in Comparative & International Political Economy
Robert J. Franzese, Jr.
University of Michigan, franzese@umich.edu
Jude C. Hays
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, jchays@uiuc.edu
Aya Kachi
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, akachi2@uiuc.edu

[Slides] Dependence Networks and the Diffusion of Democracy
Jay Goodliffe
Brigham Young University, goodliffe@byu.edu
Darren Hawkins
BYU

Panel 2 Taubman Nye-A 5th Floor Taubman Building (elevator access only)

When Country Interdependence is More Than Just a Nuisance: The Longitudinal Network Analysis Approach
Mark Pickup
University of Oxford, mark.pickup@politics.ox.ac.uk
Mark Manger
McGill University, mark.manger@mcgill.ca
Tom Snijders
University of Oxford, Tom.Snijders@nuffield.ox.ac.uk

Formal and Real Authority of Ministerial Jurisdictions in Semi-Open States: The Comparative Value of Inside and Outside Networking
Paul W. Thurner
University of Munich, paul.thurner@gsi.uni-muenchen.de
Martin Binder
Mannheimer Zentrum für Europäische Sozialforschung (MZES), martin.binder@mzes.uni-mannheim.de

 
Panel 3 Room T-275 Second Floor Taubman Building (stairs or elevator access)

Analysis of Associational Networks Embedded in Terrorist Events
Chris Bronk
Rice University, rcbronk@rice.edu
Devika Subramanian
Rice University
John Miller
Sam Houston State University
Derek Ruths
Rice University
Nicholas Muscara
Rice University

[PDF] [Slides] Connections Can Be Toxic: Terrorist Organizational Factors and the Pursuit and Use of CBRN Terrorism
Karl Rethemeyer
University at Albany, SUNY, kretheme@albany.edu
Gary A. Ackerman
University of Maryland, ackerman@cetisresearch.org
Victor H. Asal
University at Albany – SUNY, vasal@email.albany.edu

10:30am-10:45am Break

10:45am-12:15pm Presentations

Panel 1 Wiener Auditorium

Political Networks: The Relationship Between Candidate Platform Positions and Constituency Communication Structures
Betsy Sinclair
University of Chicago, betsysinclair@gmail.com

[PDF] [Slides] Dynamics of Political Polarization
Delia Baldassarri
Princeton University, dbalda@Princeton.edu
Peter Bearman
Columbia University, psb17@columbia.edu

Panel 2 Taubman Nye-A 5th Floor Taubman Building (elevator access only)

On Having Something in Common: Latent Two-Mode Models for Social Networks
Carter Butts
University of California, Irvine, buttsc@uci.edu

A Hyperlink Network Analysis of the United States Senate on the Web:  Using Hyperlinks to Predict Roll Call Votes
George Barnett
University of Buffalo, SUNY, gbarnett@buffalo.edu
Jang Hyun Kim
University of Hawaii, Manoa, commpeace <at> gmail <dot> com

Panel 3 Room T-275 Second Floor Taubman Building (stairs or elevator access)

On Social Networks and Social Protest:  Understanding the Organizational Embeddedness of Large-Scale Protest Events
Dana R. Fisher
Columbia University, drf2004@columbia.edu

[Slides] The Internet as a Grassroots Organizing Tool:  Exploring the Role of Social Networks in the 2008 Presidential Nomination Contest
Christine B. Williams
Bentley College, cwilliams@bentley.edu

12:15pm-1:30pm Lunch

1:30pm-3:00pm Presentations

Panel 1 Wiener Auditorium

Connecting Political Networks and Urban Community Structures
Rob Sampson
Harvard University, rsampson@wjh.harvard.edu
Corina Graif
Harvard University

Reciprocity Networks and National Polities: Japan’s “Butterfly State” in U.S. and German Comparison
Jeffrey Broadbent
University of Minnesota, broad001@umn.edu

Panel 2 Taubman Nye-A 5th Floor Taubman Building (elevator access only)

 

[Slides] Revisiting Those Men in the Mess
Rodolfo Espino
Arizona State University, espino@asu.edu

Local patterns in the sponsorship and cosponsorship of bills in the US Senate: A test of 10 hypotheses
Filip Agneessens
VU University of Amsterdam, f.agneessens@fsw.vu.nl
John Skvoretz

University of South Florida, skvoretz@cas.usf.edu

Panel 3 Room T-275 Second Floor Taubman Building (stairs or elevator access)

Co-evolution of Production, Firms, and Skills
John Padgett
Univeristy of Chicago, jpadgett@midway.uchicago.edu

Social Structures, Informal Institutions, and Governance in Dictatorships
Armando Razo
Indiana University , arazo@indiana.edu

3:00pm-3:15pm Break

3:15pm-4:45pm Keynote Address Location: Kennedy School Forum

Interdependence, Density Dependence, and Networks: Observational Challenges for Political Analysis
Robert Huckfeldt
University of California, Davis, rhuckfeldt@ucdavis.edu

5:00pm-6:00pm Business meeting to discuss future conferences and the formation of a formal organization for Networks in Political Science

 

 

JOHN F. KENNEDY SCHOOL OF GOVERNMENT JOHN F. KENNEDY SCHOOL OF GOVERNMENT HARVARD UNIVERSITY