Publications Influenced by SDN Participation

Membership in the Science and Democracy Network has had a tangible effect on scholarship. Below are a selection of published articles submitted by members that they feel have directly benefited from circulation and presentation within the SDN community.

From Science and Public Policy 31, No 2, (April 2004).Science and citizenship. Guest Editor: Sheila Jasanoff

Regula Valerie Burri

Pierre-Benoit Joly

Robert Doubleday

Ulrike Felt

Tim Forsyth

David Guston

Rob Hagendijk

Stephen Hilgartner

Alastair Iles

Mrill Ingram

Monika Kurath

Javier Lezaun

Marybeth L. Martello

Krishanu Saha

Articles by SDN Members

Below is a list of articles written by the members of the Science and Democracy Network selected by the members themselves as either important, representative, new, or overlooked. Links to the articles have been provided where available. Members may have up to two articles available at any given time.

(If you are a member of SDN and wish to change the articles listed under your entry, or have an entry of articles created for yourself, please contact the site admin.)

Daniel Barben

Silke Beck

  • Beck, S. (2012): Between Tribalism and Trust: The IPCC under the ‘public microscope.’ Nature and Culture 7(2): 151-173.
  • Beck, S. (2012): The challenges of building cosmopolitan climate expertise - with reference to Germany. Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Climate Change: Vol. 3/1: 1-17.
  • Beck, S. (2012): From Truth to Trust. Lessons learnt from ‘climategate.’ Hogl, K., Kvarda, E., Nordbeck, R. & Pregernig, M. (eds.): New modes of governance in environmental and natural resource policy: Analytical perspectives and empirical insights. Elgar: Cheltenham: 220-241.
  • Beck,S. Hulme, M., Mahony, M, et al. (2011): Science-Policy Interface: Beyond Assessments. Science 5: Vol. 333/ 6043: 697-698. (DOI: 10.1126/science.333.6043.697).
  • Beck, S. (2011): Moving beyond the linear model of expertise? IPCC and the test of adaptation. Regional Environmental Change:Vol.11/ 2: 297-306. (DOI 10.1007/s10113-010-0136-2).
  • Lövbrand, E. Pielke, R., Jr. and Beck, S. (2011): A Democracy Paradox in Studies of Science and Technology. Science Technology Human Values: Vol.36/ 4: 474 - 496. (DOI 10.1177/0162243910366154).
  • Christophe Bonneuil

    Mark B. Brown

    Regula Valerie Burri

    Athur A. Daemmrich

    • Daemmrich, Arthur A., Alex Radu, and Ana Sarbu."Telecommunications Regulation and Coordinated Competition in Romania." Harvard Business School Case 713-016, September 2012.
    • Daemmrich, Arthur A., and Ian McKown Cornell. "GlaxoSmithKline in Brazil: Public-Private Vaccine Partnerships." Harvard Business School Case 712-049, June 2012.
    • Arthur Daemmrich, “Epistemic Contests and the Legitimacy of the World Trade Organization: The Brazil–USA Cotton Dispute,” Trade, Law and Development 4 (2012), 200-240.
    • Arthur Daemmrich and Thomas Bredgaard, “The Welfare State as an Investment Strategy: Denmark’s Flexicurity Policies,” in: A. Bardhan, D. Jaffee, and C. Kroll (eds.), The Oxford Handbook of Offshoring and Global Employment (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013), 159-179.

    Adrian Ely

    • Patrick van Zwanenberg, Adrian Ely, Adrian Smith, Chen Chuanbo, Ding Shijun, Maria-Eugenia Fazio, Laura Goldberg (2011) “Regulatory harmonization and agricultural biotechnology in Argentina and China: Critical assessment of state-centered and de-centered approaches”, Regulation and Governance, 5, 166–186
    • Chenggang Jin, Adrian Ely, Xiaoyun Liang, Lijie Fang (2011) “Framing a global health risk from the bottom-up: user perceptions and practices around antibiotics in four villages in China”, Health, Risk and Society 13:5, 433-449
    • Patrick van Zwanenberg, Adrian Ely, Adrian Smith (with Chuanbo Chen, Shijun Ding, Chenggang Jin, Xiaoyun Liang, Maria-Eugenia Fazio, Laura Goldberg) “Regulating Technology: Global Harmonisation and Local Realities”, EarthScan
    • Leach, M., J. Rockström, P. Raskin, I. Scoones, A. C. Stirling, A. Smith, J. Thompson, E. Millstone, A. Ely, E. Arond, C. Folke and P. Olsson (2012) Transforming Innovation for Sustainability. Ecology and Society 17 (2): 11.

    Robert Doubleday and James Wilsdon

    Tim Forsyth

    David H. Guston

    Peter M. Haas

    Stephen Hilgartner

    Mike Hulme

    Sheila Jasanoff

    Pierre-Benoit Joly

    William Kinsella

    Kerstin Klein

    Monika Kurath

    Les Levidow

    Martin Mahony

    Claire Marris

    Andrew S. Mathews

    Clark A. Miller

    Susan Owens

    Shobita Parthasarathy

    Vincenzo Pavone

    Roopali Phadke

    Martyn Pickersgill

    Kjetil Rommetveit

    Jack Stilgoe

    Alex Wellerstein

    David E. Winickoff