Cambridge, MA – Harvard’s Institute of Politics (IOP), at the John F. Kennedy School of Government, today announced the selection of the 2015 IOP Fall Resident and Visiting Fellows.  The IOP was established in 1966 as a memorial to President Kennedy and aims to inspire undergraduates to enter careers in politics and public service. 

“We welcome the Fall 2015 IOP Fellows class — a diverse, dynamic group of leaders,” said Harvard Institute of Politics Director Maggie Williams.  “I know our students and the entire Harvard community will be inspired and energized by their presence.”

Over the course of an academic semester, Resident Fellows interact with students, develop and lead weekly study groups and are afforded many opportunities to participate in the intellectual life of the Harvard community.  Visiting Fellows join the Institute for a shorter period and maximize their time meeting with students, faculty and Harvard research center staff.  More information is available at

The following Resident Fellows will join the Institute for the fall semester:

  • Brent Colburn, former Assistant to the Secretary of Defense (Public Affairs) and Chief of Staff, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development; National Communications Director, Barack Obama’s presidential re-election campaign
  • Candy Crowley, former anchor and Chief Political Correspondent, CNN
  • Doug Heye, Deputy Chief of Staff (Communications) for U.S. House Majority Leader Eric Cantor (2012-14); Communications Director, Republican National Committee (2010-11)
  • Lindiwe Mazibuko, Member of Parliament, South Africa (2009-14); Democratic Alliance Parliamentary Leader and Leader of the Official Opposition (2011-14)
  • Wendy Sherman, Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs, U.S. Department of State (2011-present); former Vice Chair, Albright Stonebridge Group (2009-11) and Principal, The Albright Group (2001-09); Ambassador and Counselor, U.S. Department of State (1997-2001) * Sherman will join the Institute in early October, and jointly serve as an Institute of Politics Resident Fellow and Senior Fellow at Harvard Kennedy School’s Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs
  • Scott Smith, Mayor, Mesa, AZ (2008-14); President, U.S. Conference of Mayors (2013-14)

In addition, the Institute is pleased to host Cornell Belcher, President, Brilliant Corners Research & Strategies; Pollster, Obama for President (2012, 2008); and Pollster, Democratic National Committee (2005-08) and Tom DeFrank, Contributing Editor, National Journal; White House Correspondent, Newsweek (1970-95); and Washington Bureau Chief, New York Daily News (1996-2012) as Visiting Fellows.  Visiting Fellows traditionally meet with student groups; lead discussion groups on topical issues and their experiences in public and political service; and participate in public policy classes with students and Harvard University faculty.   

The Fellows program is central to the Institute’s dual commitment to encourage student interest in public life and to increase interaction between the academic and political communities.


Institute of Politics
Contact Phone Number