The Institute of Politics at Harvard Kennedy School announced today six Resident Fellows for the Fall 2019 semester. They bring to campus experiences as a United States Senator, Vice President, media executive, philanthropic leader, grassroots activist, and campaign strategist.

“We are excited to welcome a dynamic group of Resident Fellows in the Fall. They bring notable professional experience at the highest levels of government, politics, activism and journalism,” said Mark D. Gearan ‘78. “With a shared commitment to the public good, they model lives of consequence to our students.”

Our Fall 2019 Resident Fellows:

  • LaTosha Brown - Co-Founder, Black Voters Matter Fund
  • Bob Cohn - President, The Atlantic
  • Isabel de Saint Malo de Alvarado - Vice President of the Republic of Panama and Minister of Foreign Affairs (2014-2019)
  • Deesha Dyer - White House Social Secretary, Obama Administration (2015-2017) and co-founder, beGirl.World
  • Jeff Flake - U.S. Senator (R-AZ) (2013-2019)
  • Alice Stewart - CNN Political Commentator and Communications Director, Senator Ted Cruz’s 2016 Presidential Campaign

Learn more about our Fall 2019 Resident Fellows

“With a historic presidential election on the horizon, students across the university will have the chance to learn from and challenge a unique class of civic leaders,” said Elijah DeVaughn ‘20 and Kate Krolicki ‘20, Student Co-Chairs of the Fellows and Study Groups program at the Institute of Politics. “These six individuals have organized on the streets, held truth to power, and led at the highest levels of government at home and abroad. We look forward to welcoming the Fellows class this Fall.”

For over fifty years the Resident Fellows Program has provided students with the opportunity to learn from experienced public servants, the space to engage in civil discourse, and the chance to acquire a more holistic, empathetic, and pragmatic view of our political world. Each semester, Resident Fellows immerse themselves into the Harvard community by residing on campus, mentoring a cohort of undergraduate students, holding weekly office hours and leading an eight-week, not-for-credit study group based on their particular experience and expertise.

For more information on the Fellows program, including a full list of former fellows, visit

Media Contact
Kelsey Donohue, Communications Director at the Institute of Politics