Pippa Norris, the Paul F. McGuire Lecturer in Comparative Politics, has received the 2021 Murray Edelman Lifetime Distinguished Career Award from the Political Communication Research Section of the American Political Science Association/International Communication Association.

The award, given every two years, is named after pioneering political scientist Murray Edelman, a longtime professor at the University of Wisconsin.

Among the past recipients are Harvard Kennedy School’s Thomas Patterson, the Bradlee Professor of Government and the Press, as well as more than a dozen Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy visiting fellows and faculty.

“I am following in the footsteps of a long line of distinguished scholars,” Norris said.

A comparative political scientist, Norris’s work focuses on democracy, public opinion and elections, political communications, and gender politics around the world. Google Scholar ranks her fifth worldwide in political science citations.

The award will be presented in September at the APSA annual meeting.