Pippa Norris, the Paul F. McGuire Lecturer in Comparative Politics at Harvard Kennedy School, has won the 2022 Warren E. Miller Prize from the American Political Science Association (APSA) Section on Elections, Public Opinion, and Voting Behavior. Norris was presented with the award at the annual APSA convention in Montreal this month.

The Warren E. Miller Prize is presented every two or three years for an outstanding career of intellectual accomplishment and service to the profession in the elections, public opinion, and voting behavior field. Previous Harvard recipients have included Robert Putnam, the Peter and Isabel Malkin Professor of Public Policy Emeritus and former HKS dean, and Sidney Verba, who was the Carl H. Pforzheimer University Professor at Harvard University.

The APSA citation noted that Norris “does not merely meet but far exceeds the requirements for both intellectual accomplishment and service.” It lauded her three decades of service to Harvard Kennedy School and her “broad intellectual interests [including] democratic performance, electoral behavior, public opinion, political communications, and gender politics, which she has investigated in polities around the world” and which has resulted in hundreds of academic papers and book chapters.

The citation continues: “As if this record of scholarly achievement were not enough, Norris has provided notable service as a consultant to, and officer of, numerous organizations related to the issues of democratic performance about which she teaches, lectures, and writes. Among her many service activities, perhaps the most notable is the Electoral Integrity Project, which she founded in 2012, to produce policy-relevant research that compares elections worldwide and investigates the reasons that elections fail, the consequences of electoral failure, and possibilities for positive change.”

Norris, a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, has received many accolades throughout her career, including the 2011 Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science and APSA’s 2019 Charles Merriam Award.