Professor Sheila Jasanoff, the Pforzheimer Professor of Science and Technology Studies at Harvard Kennedy School, has been elected to the American Philosophical Society (APS) this April. 

Jasanoff, who directs the Kennedy School’s Program on Science, Technology and Society, is among the 29 resident members and seven international members elected to the APS this spring. Last month Jasanoff was also elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Jasanoff is the author of more than 130 articles and author or editor of more than 15 books. Her work explores the role of science and technology in the law, politics, and policy of modern democracies. Her recent work includes ongoing research comparing 18 nations’ responses to the COVID-19 pandemic to determine what worked, what fell short, and why.

APS members are nominated and elected each year by current members in recognition of extraordinary accomplishments in all fields and for work that promotes useful knowledge. 2021 marks the first year when more women than men were elected to the society. These new members join the nation's oldest learned society and the company of over 5,700 members elected since 1743, including figures such as John James Audubon, Willa Cather, Marie Curie, Charles Darwin, Thomas Edison, Albert Einstein, Robert Frost, George C. Marshall, Barbara McClintock, Margaret Mead, Maria Mitchell, and Louis Pasteur. 

Read the list of APS members elected in 2021