Distinguished Service Awards

Distinguished Service Award Recognition

M-RCBG established a Distinguished Service Award in 1998. Recipients constitute an elite group of individuals with remarkable contributions not just to the Center, but to the Kennedy School and their professions beyond Harvard.


Richard Zeckhauer (2016) has been a mentor to thousands of students and many accomplished economists and academics around the world since joining the Harvard faculty in 1968. He has published over 300 articles and books, from A Primer in Policy Analysis with Edith Stokey, An Economic Theory of Alliances with Mancur Olson, to works on climate policy, collaborative governance, health insurance exchanges, terrorism risk-assessments, antimicrobial resistance, causes of the financial crisis, and hundreds of topics in between. 


Thomas Healey (2010) is a long-time advisor and supporter of the Center, serving as a Kennedy School faculty member and M-RCBG senior fellow. He is a senior director of Goldman Sachs, former Assistant Secretary of the U.S. Treasury for Domestic Finance under President Ronald Reagan, a past member of the U.S. Department of Labor’s ERISA Advisory Council, and was a Presidentially appointed Director of the Securities Industry Protection Corporation. 


Robert Glauber (2009) has been on the Harvard faculty for more than 30 years and served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the National Association of Securities Dealers (now FINRA), Under Secretary of the Treasury for Finance in the first Bush administration, and Executive Director of the Task Force (Brady Commission) appointed by President Reagan to report on the October 1987 stock market crash. 


Stephen Peterson (2007) spent 12 years in Ethiopia with Harvard and the Center, overseeing the development of modern budgeting and accounting systems for the Ethiopian national and local governments, making an extraordinary contribution to one of the world’s poorest countries.


Cary Coglianese (2006) specialized in the study of regulation and regulatory processes, founded the Center’s Regulatory Policy Program, and produced over 20 books and other edited volumes in regulatory policy during his tenure at the Kennedy School. 


Jack Donahue (2005) has worked at the Center since its founding, directed two of its research programs, written or edited twelve policy books, and served in the Clinton Administration as an Assistant Secretary and as Counselor to the Secretary of Labor.


Bill Hogan (2000) founded the Harvard Electricity Policy Group and is the leading academic nationally focused on the interaction of energy economics and public policy.



F.M. Scherer (2000) was chief economist at the Federal Trade Commission whose research has covered a wide spectrum of issues, from the economics of technological change and growth to industrial organization economics. 



John Dunlop (1999) played a pivotal role in the founding of the Center, was a widely respected labor economist and adviser to many U.S. presidents, and served as Secretary of Labor in the Ford administration. 



Ray Vernon (1998) was a pillar of the Center since its founding in 1982 and a leading scholar on multinational enterprises, the global trading system, privatization and regulation.