The 2018 Annual Robert Glauber Lecture 
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
JFK Jr. Forum at 6pm


Sir Paul Tucker 
Reinforcing Financial Stability in a Crumbling International Order


annual-robert-glauber-lecture_ksgarticlefeature.jpgAnnual Robert Glauber Lecture

This annual lecture honors Robert Glauber and his long record of distinguished contributions to the U.S. and world financial systems, as well as his long and successful scholarship and teaching which have characterized his career at Harvard. Mr. Glauber is an Adjunct Lecturer at the Harvard Kennedy School and has been a visiting professor at Harvard Law School in 2007 and 2009. Previously, he served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of NASD (now FINRA). Prior to that, he also served as Under Secretary of the Treasury for Finance from 1989 to 1992 and, before that, was a Professor of Finance at the Harvard Business School for 25 years.

In 1987-1988, Mr. Glauber served as Executive Director of the Task Force (Brady Commission) appointed by President Reagan to report on the October 1987 stock market crash. Mr. Glauber presently is Chairman of the Board of XL Group, plc (an insurance company) and Northeast Bancorp (a commercial bank based in New England), a director of Moody's Corp. and a member fo the Trustees that oversee the International Accounting Standards Board. He has previously served on the board of Freddie Mac. He is a graduate of Harvard College and has a doctorate from Harvard Business School.

Previous honorees who have delivered the Glauber Lecture include:


2016Thomas J. Curry, Comptroller of the Currency
For video, click here.


2015: Barney Frank, United States House of Representatives (1981-2013); Chairman, House Financial Services Committee (2007-2011)
For video link, click here.

2013: Gary Gensler, Chairman, U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission
For news story, click here.


2012: Ed Haldeman, former CEO of Freddie Mac
For video link, click here.


2011: Douglas Shulman, Commissioner, Internal Revenue Service
For video link, click here.


2010: Sheila Bair, Chair, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
For video link, click here.


2009: Mary Schapiro, Chair, Securities and Exchange Commission
For video link, click here.


2007: Christopher Cox, Chair, Securities and Exchange Commission.
For video link, click here.


M-RCBG is grateful to NASD (now FINRA) for its generous contribution of an endowment which has made this lecture series possible.