January 2015 Patent Workshop

M-RCBG/MIT IDE/INET/CIGI research agenda workshop, Governing Innovation: the law, economics, and political economy of patent systems

January 16-17, 2015 at the Harvard Kennedy School. Except for the first two sessions, which will be at the Sheraton Commander, the workshop program will be in the Malkin Penthouse on the 4th floor of Littauer at the Harvard Kennedy School.

Friday – Sheraton Commander
9:00 – coffee and rolls available
10 – 10:30 Goals and introductions; 
10:30 – 12:15 session 1
12:15 Lunch
1:15 – 3:00 session 2
3:00 break (move to Malkin Penthouse, Harvard Kennedy School)
3:30 – 5:15 session 3
5:15 reception 
6:30 dinner (Alison Brimelow)

Saturday – Malkin Penthouse
8:00 coffee and continental breakfast
8:30 – 10:15 session 4
10:15 – 10:45 break
10:45 – 12:30 session 5
12:45 – 2:00 roundtable and lunch
2:00 adjourn


Examples of questions at different levels of analysis

1. Knowledge and patents
Brian Kahin, MIT, co-chair (prioritiesbackground essayslidesslides2)
Lisa Larrimore Ouellette, Stanford (prioritiesbackground paper)
Jeremy West, OECD (priorities)
Mike Scherer, Harvard Kennedy School (prioritiesbackground paper
Colleen Chien, Santa Clara (prioritiesbackground paper 1background paper 2
Maryann Feldman, NSF, co-chair
Gail Cohen, NAS/STEP 

2. Business practice
Joshua Gans, Toronto (priorities
Wes Cohen, Duke (prioritiesbackground paper)
Robin Feldman, Hastings, co-chair (priorities
Mike Meurer, BU (priorities)
Ove Granstrand, Chalmers (priorities) (background paper
Lauren Cohen, Harvard (priorities
William Bonvillian, MIT (priorities
Steve Merrill, Duke, co-chair (priorities

3. Market structure and market response
Dan McCurdy, RPX (prioritiesupdated data)
Dave Jones, Microsoft (priorities)
Tony Clayton, UKIPO (prioritiesBoyle article
Suzanne Michel, Google (priorities
Jonathan Masur, Chicago (prioritiesbackground paper 1background paper 2)
Danny Goroff, Sloan Fdn, co-chair
Oonagh Fitzgerald /Myra Tawfik, CIGI (prioritiesILRP)
Terry Fisher, Harvard, co-chair

4. National institutions
Eli Dourado, GMU (priorities)
Jim Bessen, BU (priorities)
Melissa Wasserman, Illinois (priorities)
Colleen Chien, Santa Clara (prioritiesbackground paper 1background paper 2
Arti Rai, Duke, co-chair (priorities)
David Colander, Middlebury, co-chair 

5. International
Dieter Ernst, East-West Center (prioritiesbackground paper 1background paper 2think piece
Keith Maskus, Colorado (priorities),
Brian Kahin, MIT, (prioritiesbackground essay)  
John Zysman, Berkeley (BRIE), co-chair (background paper
Domenico Lombardi, CIGI, co-chair (CIGI priorities) *

Closing roundtable
Marshall Auerback, Institute for New Economic Thinking
Jim Balsillie, CIGI/INET (priorities)
Alison Brimelow
Andrew Wyckoff, OECD

Other participants and observers 
Bassem Awad, CIGI
Karima Bawa, CIGI
Erik Brynjolfsson, MIT
Dan Burk, UC Irvine
Paul Halucha, Industry Canada
Jim Hinton, CIGI
James F. Moore 
David Moss, HBS
Chandler Reedy, Warburg Pincus

*introducing Karima Bawa