Technology Innovation for Sustainable Development (2011-present)


Initiative Leader:

William Clark, Harvey Brooks Professor of International Science, Public Policy and Human Development, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

Innovation and Access to Technologies for Sustainable Development Project Co-Directors

Laura Diaz Anadon, Assistant Professor of Public Policy, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

Kira Matus, Senior Lecturer; Deputy Head of Department of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Public Policy, University College London (Visiting Scholar, Sustainability Science Program, 2014, 2015)

Suerie Moon, Co-Chair and Research Director, Forum on Global Governance for Health, Harvard Global Health Institute and Harvard School of Public Health

Other faculty, fellows, and researchers:

Ahmed Abdel-Latif, Senior Programme Manager, Innovation, Technology and Intellectual Property, International Centre for Trade and Sustainable Development (Giorgio Ruffolo Research Fellow, 2012)

Liliana Andonova, Associate Professor in Political Science, Graduate Institute for International and Development Studies (Research Fellow, 2011)

Kathleen Araujo, Assistant Professor, Stony Brook University, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences,  Technology and Society Department (Science, Technology, and Public Policy Post-doctoral Fellow, 2013, 2014)

Nigel Asquith, Director of Strategy, Fundacion Natura Bolivia (Research Fellow and Charles Bullard Fellow, 2014)

Manoela Assayag, PhD candidate in International Relations and Political Science, Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies (Giorgio Ruffolo Doctoral Research Fellow, 2015)

Gabrielle Bastien, Master of Liberal Arts in Sustainability and Environmental Management candidate, Harvard University Extension School, 2016 (Research Assistant, 2015)

Françoise Bichai, Post-Doctoral Fellow, Harvard Water Security Initiative (Collaborator, 2014)

Kayje Booker, CEO, Forward Montana (Collaborator, 2014)

Gabe Chan, Doctoral candidate in Public Policy, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University (ETIP Fellow, 2013, 2014, 2015; Giorgio Ruffolo Doctoral Fellow, 2011, 2012)

Hyundo Choi, Assistant Professor, Chosun University, College of Business (STPP Post-doctoral Fellow, 2012, 2013).

Ross Collins, PhD candidate in Engineering Systems Division, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Doctoral Fellow, 2015)

Sharon Davis, Executive Director, Water Resources, Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (Post-doctoral Fellow, School of Engineering & Applied Sciences, Harvard University, 2014)

Brian Dillon, Assistant Professor, University of Washington, Evans School of Public Affairs (Giorgio Ruffolo Post-doctoral Fellow, 2013, 2014)

Kristian Dubrawski, Post-doctoral Fellow, University of British Columbia (SSP Associate, 2013)

Philip Francisco Uytiepo Dy, Master in Public Policy candidate, 2015 (Research Assistant, 2015)

Stephen Elliott, Senior Product Manager, Amazon Web Services (Master in Public Policy, HKS and Master in Business Administration, HBS, 2012)

Lonia Friedlander, Doctoral candidate in Geochemistry, Stony Brook University (Collaborator, 2014)

Rachael Garrett, Assistant Professor, Boston University, Department of Earth & Environment (Giorgio Ruffolo Post-doctoral Research Fellow, 2014, 2015)

Alicia Harley, PhD in Public Policy candidate, HKS (Giorgio Ruffolo Doctoral Research Fellow, 2013, 2014)

Noel Michele Holbrook, Professor of Biology and Charles Bullard Professor of Forestry, Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology, Harvard University

Christina Ingersoll, Strategic Systems Manager, MIT,Sloan School of Management, The Committee on Sustainability Assessment (Research Fellow 2013)

Calestous Juma, Professor of the Practice of International Development, Director, Science Technology and Globalization Project, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

Arani Kajenthira Grindle, Senior Consultant FSG (Science, Technology, and Society Post-doctoral Fellow, 2014)

Erin Kempster, Economist, Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities (Summer Research Assistant, 2012)

Daniele Lantagne, Assistant Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Tufts University (Giorgio Ruffolo Research Fellow, 2012, 2013)

Yosef Manik, Giorgio Ruffolo Post-doctoral Fellow, 2014

Sharmila Murthy, Assistant Professor of Law, Suffolk University (SSP Visiting Scholar, 2014, 2015; Carr Center Post-doctoral Fellow, 2012, 2013)

Venkatesh Narayanamurti, Benjamin Peirce Professor of Technology and Public Policy and Professor of Physics; Director, Science, Technology, and Public Policy Program, Harvard University

Meredith Niles, Giorgio Ruffolo Post-doctoral Research Fellow, 2015

Ramy M. Noaman,Masters of Liberal Arts in International Relations, 2015 (Research Assistant, 2015)

Robert Paarlberg, Adjunct Professor of Public Policy, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

Annalidia Pansini, Assistant to the Deputy Secretary General, Italian Presidency of the Council of Ministers - Prime Minister’s Office, (Giorgio Ruffolo Research Fellow, 2014)

Laura Pereira, Post-doctoral Fellow, University of Cape Town, Department of Environmental and Geographical Sciences (Giorgio Ruffolo Post-doctoral Fellow, 2013)

John-Arne Røttingen, Visiting Professor, Harvard School of Public Health (Mid-career Master of Public Administration, 2012)

Lucilla Spini, Head of Science Programmes, International Council for Science (Giorgio Ruffolo Research Fellow, 2015)

Jennifer Stephens, Associate Professor and Blittersdorf Professor of Sustainability Science and Policy, University of Vermont, The Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources (Collaborator, 2014)

Pamela Templer, Associate Professor, Boston University, Department of Biology (Research Fellow and Charles Bullard Fellow, 2014)

Vanessa Timmer, Executive Director, One Earth Initiative (Associate, 2013, 2014)

Livio Valenti, Giorgio Ruffolo Research Fellow, 2014, 2015

Judson Valentim, Senior Researcher, Empresa Brasileira de Pesquisa Agropecuária (Embrapa) - Brazilian Corporation for Agricultural Research, Agroforestry Research Center of Acre (Giorgio Ruffolo Research Fellow, 2014)

Lee Vinsel, Assistant Professor, Stevens Institute of Technology College of Arts and Letters, (Science, Technology, and Society Post-doctoral Fellow, 2012)

Margherita Vitale, Advisor, Italian Ministry for the Environment (Giorgio Ruffolo Research Fellow, 2015)

Jared Westheim, Master in Public Policy candidate, HKS, 2016 (Research Assistant, 2015)

Mark Williams, (Research Fellow, Carr Center for Human Rights Policy, HKS, 2014)

Alyssa Yamamoto, Program Associate, Hope Consulting (Research Assistant, 2012)