fbpx Rappaport Boston Urban Scholars | Harvard Kennedy School

Rappaport Boston Urban Scholars

Current Rappaport/Boston Urban Scholars


Amy Mahler is the Director of SPARK Boston, Mayor Martin J. Walsh’s 20-35 year old leadership and engagement council. As Director, she recruits, selects, manages, mentors, and leads the annual council cohort, composed of 20 to 35 year old Boston residents across neighborhoods and industries who advise city leaders on young adult priorities and create community. Before SPARK Boston, she has worked as the Mayor’s Liaison for the South End, the Bay Village, Allston and Brighton and most recently was the Policy Manager for Joyce Linehan. Amy joined the Walsh Administration from Governors Deval Patrick and Charlie Baker’s Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs, where she was the Press Secretary.

Representative Dylan Fernandes (D-Cape and Islands) has served in the state legislature since 2017. In office he has focused on combating climate change, advancing affordable housing, addressing the opioid and heroin epidemic and promoting access to healthcare. Prior to his election, Rep. Fernandes worked in the Attorney General’s Office fighting discrimination in the Civil Rights Division and later serving as digital director for the entire office. Fernandes got his start in politics as an organizer for Elizabeth Warren in 2012. He later served as Maura Healey’s political director on her campaign for Attorney General. He graduated from College of Charleston with a Bachelors of Science and double majored in economics and political science. Rep. Fernandes is a fourth generation resident of his district and is the son of two local small business owners - his father a landscaper and his mother an artist.


Former Rappaport Urban Scholars Year
Katie King, Assistant Town Manager, Needham 2019
Representative Ann-Margaret Ferrante, Chair, Joint Committee on Economic Development and Emerging Technologies 2018
Senator John Keenan, Chair, Senate Committee on Post Audit and Oversight 2018
Ramon Soto, Director of Policy, Massachusetts, uAspire 2016
Jennifer Benson, President, Alliance of Business Leadership and former State Representative 2015
Sarah Zapharis, Consultant 2015
Linda Dorcena Forry, Vice President for Diversity, Inclusion and Community Relations, Northeast Region, Suffolk Construction and former State Senator and State Representative 2014
Theresa Lynn, Senior Vice President of Advancement, United Way of Central Massachusetts 2014
Carl Sciortino, Executive Director, Massachusetts AIDS Action Committee and former State Representative 2013
Steven Walsh, Executive Director, Massachusetts Council of Community Hospitals and former State Representative 2012
Mayor Joseph Curtatone, City of Somerville 2011
Jeffrey Sanchez, Senior Advisor, Rasky Partners, Inc. and former State Representative 2010
Joseph Driscoll, Senior Vice President, O'Neill & Associates and former State Representative 2009
State Representative Alice Peisch (D-Wellesley), House Chair, Joint Committee on Education 2009
Barbara Salfity, U.S. General Services Administration 2007
Mark Falzone, Deputy Director, National Immigration Forum and  former State Representative 2007
State Representative William Straus (D-Mattapoisett), House Chair, Joint Committee on Transportation 2007
Tim Davis, Deputy Director for Policy Development and Research, Department of Neighborhood Development, City of Boston 2005
Brad Swing, Mayor's Office of Environmental Services, City of Boston 2004
Mayor Joseph Sullivan, City of Braintree, former State Representative 2004
Katherine Kottaridis, Executive Director, Historic Boston, Inc. 2003
Barry Finegold, Dalton and Finegold, LLP and former State Senator 2003
Rachel Kaprielian, US Government Relations for McDonalds, former State Representative 2003
Peter Koutoujian, Middlesex County Sheriff, former State Representative 2003
Charles Murphy, consultant, former State Representative 2002
Carol Blair, OnwardVia 2001
Joseph LaRusso, Energy Efficiency and Renewable Finance Manager, City of Boston 2000
Jack Hart, Nelson Mullins, and former State Representative 2000
Lillian Shirley, Director, Multnomah County and Portland, Oregon Health Department 1999
State Representative Kevin Honan (D-Brighton), House Chair, Joint Committee on Housing 1999
Bryan Glascock, Senior Advisor for Regulatory Reform, Boston Planning and Development Authority 1998
Honorable Stephen Lynch, U.S. House of Representatives 1998
Antonio Torres, Massachusetts Housing Finance Agency 1996
Maureen Flynn, Deputy Director, Boston Home Center, City of Boston 1995
John Munier, Managing Director, Syndicated, MarketStrategies, International 1994
Theresa Bourgeois, Founder, Esperence Consulting 1993
John Mills, Director, National Network of Sector Partners 1992
James Jordan, Criminal Justice Consultant, Strategic Solutions for Criminal Justice Organizations 1991
Honorable Justice Robert Rufo, Massachusetts Superior Court 1991
Charles Yancey, former Boston City Councilor 1991
John McDonough, Professor of the Practice of Public Health and Director of the Center for Public Health Leadership at Harvard School of Public Health and former State Representative 1990
Jeffrey Cronin, City of Pasadena, California 1990
James Brett, The New England Council, former State Representative 1989
Susan Tracy, The Strategy Group, former State Representative 1989
Thomas Bledsoe, Housing Partnership Group 1987
Kevin McCluskey, Associate Director of Athletics, UMass Boston and former Boston School Committee Member 1986
Priscilla Teague, Boston Public Schools 1986
Richard Rouse, Boston, former State Representative 1986
Thomas Vallely, Vietnam Program, Harvard University, former State Representative 1983

In Memoriam

Bruce Bolling, MassAlliance, former Boston City Councilor


Thomas Kennedy, former State Senator 2005