This prize is awarded to a member of the Harvard Kennedy School community (faculty, staff, or student) who has done the most to advance women or gender equity within the HKS community.

2024 Awardee: Tram T. Nguyen, MC/MPA ‘24

Tram Nguyen and Iris Bohnet

To nominate any member of the Harvard Kennedy School community (a student, faculty, or staff), please submit a letter of support stating how this person has worked to advance the opportunities, situation, and status of women within the HKS community. 

Nominations should be submitted via email to Please include “Nomination for Holly Taylor Sargent Prize” in the subject line of your email. The Holly Taylor Sargent Prize for Women’s Advancement will be presented on Class Day.

  • 2023 - Annie Conderacci
  • 2022 - Hallie Huffaker and Rigzom Wangchuk
  • 2021 - Megan Linquiti
  • 2020 - Janina Matuszeski
  • 2019 - Alexandra Schmitt
  • 2018 - Kessely Hong
  • 2017 - Jaclyn Dean and Morgan McDaniel
  • 2016 - Kristy Luk and Deena Zeplowitz
  • 2015 - Rory Gerberg and MaryRose Mazzola
  • 2014 - Ashley Freeland
  • 2013 - Melissa Sandgren
  • 2012 - Heidi Sieck 
  • 2011 - Varina Winder
  • 2010 - Molly Byrne
  • 2009 - Erica Lewis
  • 2008 - Rachel Konforty
  • 2007 - Dianne Munevar
  • 2006 - Dolores Bernardo, Cathy Kidman, and Jacqueline O’Neill

Holly Taylor Sargent's labors to build the capacity of the Kennedy School for over a decade as senior associate dean for strategy and external relations are remarkable. She has made a lasting mark on the Kennedy School and its ability to improve public service around the world. In particular, she inspired and guided the successful program on women and public policy. To recognize her contributions to the Kennedy School and to the advancement of women at the school and in the world, Joseph S. Nye, Jr. and Molly Nye have established the Holly Taylor Sargent Prize for Women's Advancement.