This event has passed

Date and Location

April 3, 2024
1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wex 434 A/b


HKS events calendar icon

​​​​The six stories that were brought to light by the 2024 finalists for the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting demonstrated the extraordinary lengths journalists go to hold the powerful to account. They uncovered some of the worst problems of public policy and governance in America, and drove real change:

     Corruption in the Supreme Court.  

     Rampant crime by NYC motorists.

     Failures of police accountability and public safety.

     Algorithmic denial of healthcare by insurers.  

     Broad violations of child labor laws.

     Disregard for medial device safety.

All six not only brought these issues to national awareness, but they drove real change.

Join representatives of each finalist reporting team for a discussion on the craft and impact of their work, and the importance of investigative journalism in our democracy.

Panelists include:

  • Joshua Kaplan, ProPublica
  • Jesse Coburn, Streetsblog
  • Ilyssa Daly, The New York Times
  • Bob Herman, STAT
  • Kirsten Danis (representing Hannah Dreier), The New York Times
  • Michael Sallah, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette


Bina Venkataraman is an American journalist, author, and science & technology policy expert. She is currently a columnist at The Washington Post writing on the future. From 2019 to 2022, she was the Editorial Page Editor of The Boston Globeoverseeing its editorial board and opinion coverage and shepherding two Pulitzer finalist editorial series. She formerly served as senior adviser for climate change innovation in the Obama White House, and directed global policy initiatives at the Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT. Since 2011, she has taught in the program on science, technology, and society at MIT. Venkataraman is an alumna of Brown University and the Harvard Kennedy School. She was a judge for the 2024 Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting.

Visit to learn more about this year’s finalists, and to browse the archives.

The winner will be announced at the Goldsmith Awards Ceremony on April 3, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. ET.. You can register for the ceremony here.

We will have light afternoon snacks!

Speakers and Presenters

​​Bina Venkataraman; Joshua Kaplan; Jesse Coburn; Ilyssa Daly; Bob Herman; Kirsten Danis; Michael Sallah