Boston Globe Wins Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting

Contact: Alison Kommer
Phone: 617-495-1329
Contact Organization: Joan Shorenstein Center
Date: March 11, 2003

CAMBRIDGE, MA - The $25,000 Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting has been awarded to The Boston Globe by the Kennedy School's Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy for their award-winning investigative report "Crisis in the Catholic Church." Globe reporters chronicled a burgeoning scandal that has seen dozens of priests stand accused of abuse. It is a scandal that has spread beyond the Boston Archdiocese to other states and countries. The series ultimately led to the resignation of Cardinal Law, once the nation's most influential Catholic prelate.
Members of the Globe team include Matthew Carroll, Kevin Cullen, Thomas Farragher, Stephen Kurkjian, Michael Paulson, Sacha Pfeiffer, Michael Rezendes and Walter V. Robinson.
Launched in 1991, the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting honors journalism which promotes more effective and ethical conduct of government, the making of public policy, or the practice of politics by disclosing excessive secrecy, impropriety and mismanagement, or instances of particularly commendable government performance.
The five finalists for the Prize for Investigative Reporting were:
· Mike Wagner, Ben Sutherly, Laura Bischoff, Ken McCall, Dale Dempsey and Martha Hild of The Dayton Daily News, for "Down on the Factory: Cheap Food, Hidden Costs";
· Steve Inskeep, of National Public Radio, for "Oruzgan Raid";
· David Cay Johnston, of The New York Times, for "Tax Cheats";
· Brett Shipp and Mark Smith, of WFAA-TV, Dallas for "Fake Drugs, Real Lives";
· Phil Brinkman, Dee J. Hall and Scott Milfred, of The Wisconsin State Journal, for "Corruption in the Wisconsin State Capitol."
Each of the finalist entries received a $2,000 prize.
A special citation was also awarded to Seth Rosenfeld of The San Francisco Chronicle for "The Campus Files: Reagan, Hoover and the UC Red Scare." In a seventeen-year pursuit of truth, Seth Rosenfeld fought a marathon legal battle to win the right to tell the embarrassing and frightening story of how the Federal Bureau of Investigation had misused its power. While the story he sought to tell took place in 1967, its relevance is clear. The perseverance and courage of Mr. Rosenfeld and The San Francisco Chronicle are an inspiration to those who cherish a free press.
In addition, Goldsmith Book Prizes were awarded to Doris A. Graber for "Processing Politics: Learning from Television in the Internet Age" and to Leonard Downie Jr. and Robert G. Kaiser for "The News About the News: American Journalism in Peril." The Goldsmith Book Prize is awarded to the best academic and best trade books that seek to improve the quality of government or politics through an examination of press and politics in the formation of public policy.
The Goldsmith Career Award for Excellence in Journalism was given to Seymour Hersh, the legendary investigative reporter.
The annual Goldsmith Awards Program receives financial support from the Goldsmith-Greenfield Foundation.
The Shorenstein Center was established in 1986 to promote greater understanding of the media by public officials, to improve coverage by media professionals of government and politics, to better anticipate the consequences of public policies that affect the media and the First Amendment, and to increase knowledge about how the media affect our political processes and government institutions.


John F. Kennedy School of Government 79 John F. Kennedy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
617-495-1100 Get Directions Visit Contact Page