Shorenstein Center Announces Jonathan M. Ladd and Rebecca MacKinnon winners of 2013 Goldsmith Book Prizes

Contact: Molly Lanzarotta
Phone: (617) 495-1144
Date: February 11, 2013

CAMBRIDGE, MA – Winners of the Goldsmith Book Prizes have been announced by the Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government.
The 2013 Book Prize winners are "Why Americans Hate the Media and How It Matters" by Jonathan M. Ladd in the academic category, and "Consent of the Networked: The Worldwide Struggle for Internet Freedom" by Rebecca MacKinnon in the trade category. Jonathan Ladd is an associate professor at Georgetown University, with appointments in the Public Policy Institute and the Department of Government. Rebecca MacKinnon is a Schwartz Senior Fellow at the New America Foundation.
In "Why Americans Hate the Media," Jonathan Ladd argues that in the 1950s, ‘60s, and early ‘70s, competition in American party politics and the media industry reached historic lows. When competition later intensified in both of these realms, the public’s distrust of the institutional media grew, leading the public to resist the mainstream press’s information about policy outcomes and turn toward alternative partisan media outlets. As a result, public beliefs and voting behavior are now increasingly shaped by partisan predispositions.
In "Consent of the Networked," journalist and Internet policy specialist Rebecca MacKinnon argues that the rights of Internet users must be protected from the corporate sovereigns of cyberspace. Yet the traditional solution to unaccountable corporate behavior – government regulation – cannot stop the abuse of digital power on its own, and sometimes even contributes to it. The book addresses the question of how technology should be governed to support the rights and liberties of users around the world.
The Goldsmith Book Prizes honor the best academic and trade books of the year in the field of media, politics and public policy. The Prizes are underwritten by an annual gift from the Goldsmith Fund of the Greenfield Foundation. The authors will be honored at the Goldsmith Awards Ceremony at Harvard’s Kennedy School on March 5, 2013.
The Goldsmith Awards Ceremony
When: 6:00 p.m., Tuesday, March 5, 2013
Where: John F. Kennedy Jr. Forum
John F. Kennedy School of Government
Harvard University
79 JFK Street
Cambridge, MA
What: Presentation of the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting, the Goldsmith Book Prizes and the Goldsmith Career Award for Excellence in Journalism.


John F. Kennedy School of Government 79 John F. Kennedy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
617-495-1100 Get Directions Visit Contact Page