Newly Elected Members of Congress to Attend Harvard Congressional Issues Conference

Contact: Esten Perez
Phone: (617) 496-4009
Date: December 11, 2012

Cambridge, MA – A bipartisan group of nearly 50 newly elected members of Congress from across the country will gather this week at the Institute of Politics (IOP), located at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, for a conference focusing on exercising leadership in Congress and the issues that they will face.
“We are pleased to welcome once again new members of Congress to Harvard,” said Institute of Politics Director Trey Grayson. “This conference provides an opportunity to gain important guidance from current and former Representatives, policy experts, and key U.S. policymakers and political practitioners.”
The 20th Bipartisan Program for Newly Elected Members of Congress will run from Tuesday evening, December 11 through Friday afternoon, December 14 at Harvard Kennedy School. The new members of Congress will participate in a variety of sessions, led by academics, practitioners, and current and former members of the U.S. House of Representatives. Topics will include the economy and sessions on the federal budget, American power and competitiveness, Middle East policy, communications and navigating the legislative process. One of the sessions on Thursday Dec. 13 will be open for media coverage.
Participating newly elected members of Congress (listed alphabetically) include: Andy Barr (KY-6th, R), Joyce Beatty (OH-3rd, D), Amerish Bera (CA-7th, D), Jim Bridenstine (OK-1st, R), Susan Brooks (IN-5th, R), Julia Brownley (CA-26th, D), Cheri Bustos (IL-17th, D), Matt Cartwright (PA-17th, D), Joaquin Castro (TX-20th, D), John Delaney (MD-6th, D), Elizabeth Esty (CT-5th, D), Lois Frankel (FL-22nd, D), Tulsi Gabbard (HI-2nd, D), Pete Gallego (TX-23rd, D), Joe Garcia (FL-26th, D), Alan Grayson (FL-9th, D), Denny Heck (WA-10th, D), Richard Hudson (NC-8th, R), Jared Huffman (CA-2nd, D), Hakeem Jeffries (NY-8th, D), Joseph Kennedy III (MA-4th, D), Dan Kildee (MI-5th, D), Derek Kilmer (WA-6th, D), Ann McLane Kuster (NH-2nd, D), Alan Lowenthal (CA-47th, D), Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-1st, D), Dan Maffei (NY-24th, D), Sean Maloney (NY-18th, D), Grace Meng (NY-6th, D), Patrick Murphy (FL-18th, D), Richard Nolan (MN-8th, D), Beto O’Rourke (TX-16th, D), Robert Pittenger (NC-9th, R), Mark Pocan (WI-2nd, D), Tom Rice (SC-7th, R), Raul Ruiz (CA-36th, D), Brad Schneider (IL-10th, D), Carol Shea-Porter (NH-1st, D), Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-9th, D), Steve Stockman (TX-36th, R), Eric Swalwell (CA-15th, D), Mark Takano (CA-41st, D), Juan Vargas (CA-51st, D), Marc Veasey (TX-33rd, D), Randy Weber (TX-14th, R), Brad Wenstrup (OH-2nd, R) and Ted Yoho (FL-3rd, R).


John F. Kennedy School of Government 79 John F. Kennedy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
617-495-1100 Get Directions Visit Contact Page