May 7, 2021 

Harvard Kennedy School has appointed Karen Frank as chair of its Dean’s Council effective July 1. She currently co-chairs the Council with Laurence Belfer, who will step down at the end of June. He will continue to be a member of the Council’s Leadership Circle.  

 “I am very grateful for Laurence’s work to engage members of the Council,” says Douglas Elmendorf, dean of Harvard Kennedy School. “His advice has greatly benefited me and the School since he became a vice chair in 2016, then chair in 2018. As the next chair, Karen will continue to provide her energy, experience, and expertise to the Council and to me. Joining Karen in the Council’s leadership is an exciting group of regional vice chairs, who will bring unique geographical and cultural perspectives to our discussions.” 

 The Council’s three newly appointed vice chairs are Ceci Chan, Daniel Goldberg LLM 2001, and Rodney Miller MPP 1990. Chan joined the Council in 2007; she is a partner and managing director for Greater China at the investment company Dasym. Goldberg joined the Council in 2019; he is a partner at Farallon Capital Management. Miller, who joined the Council in 2019, is an alumnus of Harvard Kennedy School’s MPP program. He is a partner at Millbank. 

 Harvard Kennedy School’s Dean’s Council comprises leaders from various sectors who believe in improving public policy and public leadership around the globe. Members provide financial support and practical advice that allow the School to advance positive change at the local, state, national, and international levels, all to help people live in safer, freer, more just, and more prosperous societies. The chair and vice chairs commit to a two-year term and serve as members of the Council’s Leadership Circle, each with an annual contribution of $50,000 or more to the HKS Fund, which provides crucial unrestricted support for Harvard Kennedy School’s highest priorities.