Pippa Norris Awarded 2011 Kathleen Fitzpatrick Australian Laureate Fellowship

August 17, 2011

Pippa Norris, the Paul F. McGuire Lecturer in Comparative Politics at Harvard Kennedy School, has been awarded the inaugural 2011 Kathleen Fitzpatrick Australian Laureate Fellowship by the Australian Research Council in recognition of her role in the humanities and social sciences.

The Kathleen Fitzpatrick Australian Laureate Fellowship provides funding for mentoring and recognition of excellence for women in the humanities and social sciences. A well-known public speaker and author of almost forty books, Norris’s research in comparative politics examines democratic institutions and culture, public opinion and elections, gender politics, and political communications.

Norris has received numerous other awards including the 2011 Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science (with Ronald Inglehart) for her contribution to political science; the APSA Doris A. Graber Award for the best book published in political communications; the Independent Sector’s Virginia A. Hodgkinson research prize; and the Outstanding Professional Achievement Award from the Midwest Political Science Association Women’s Caucus. Professor Norris has also served as the Director of the Democratic Governance Group at the United Nations Development Programme in New York and as an expert consultant for many international bodies, including UNESCO, NDI, the Council of Europe, International IDEA, the World Bank, the National Endowment for Democracy, and the UK Electoral Commission.

pippa norris

Pippa Norris

Share |

John F. Kennedy School of Government 79 John F. Kennedy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
617-495-1100 Get Directions Visit Contact Page