Two HKS Faculty Members Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

April 20, 2011

Frances Myra Kamm, Littauer professor of philosophy and public policy; and Alex S. Jones, director of the Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy and Laurence M. Lombard lecturer in the press and public policy are among the class of 2011 inductees into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, it was announced today.

A total of 212 new members – among them some of the world’s most accomplished leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities, and the arts – were selected for induction.

Among the 2011 class of scholars, scientists, writers, artists, civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders are winners of the Nobel, Pulitzer, and Pritzker Prizes; the Turing Award; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; and Kennedy Center Honors, Grammy, Golden Globe, and Academy awards.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 1, at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Since its founding in 1780, the Academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the twentieth.

A list of the new Academy members is located at:

Share |

John F. Kennedy School of Government 79 John F. Kennedy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
617-495-1100 Get Directions Visit Contact Page