Bartlett and Steele Win Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting

Contact: Adrianne Kaufmann
Phone: 617-495-8290
Date: March 10, 2000

CAMBRIDGE - The $25,000 Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting has been awarded to journalists from Time Magazine by the Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government. In Thursday night’s ceremony, Donald L. Barlett and James B. Steele were presented the Prize for their series, "What Corporate Welfare Costs." This is the second time that Time Magazine has won the Goldsmith Award.
Launched in 1991, the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting honors journalism which promotes more effective and ethical conduct of government, the making of public policy, or the practice of politics by disclosing excessive secrecy, impropriety and mismanagement, or instances of particularly commendable government performance.
"We had many outstanding entries - a testimony to the high quality of investigative journalism in America," said Thomas E. Patterson, acting director of the Shorenstein Center, "but Barlett and Steele’s series on corporate welfare stood out for its scope, depth, and significance."
The other finalists for the Prize for Investigative Reporting were: Ken Armstrong and Maurice Possley of The Chicago Tribune for "Trial & Error"; Sang-Hun Choe, Charles Hanley, Randy Herschaft and Martha Mendoza of The Associated Press, for "The Bridge at No Gun Ri"; Sam Roe, of The Toledo Blade for "Deadly Alliance"; Robert Whitaker and Dolores Kong of The Boston Globe for "Doing Harm: Research on the Mentally Ill"; and David G. Willman of The Los Angeles Times for "Rezulin: A Billion Dollar Killer."
In addition, the $5,000 Goldsmith Book Prize was awarded to Robert W. McChesney, Professor at the Institute of Communications Research, College of Communications, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, for "Rich Media, Poor Democracy: Communication Politics in Dubious Times" (University of Illinois Press, 1999). The Goldsmith Book Prize is awarded to the best book that seeks to improve the quality of government or politics through an examination of the press and politics in the formation of public policy. " Professor McChesney’s book is a tour de force of the many issues facing the media today." said Patterson.
The Goldsmith Awards Program also grants monetary awards for post-graduate research on the intersection of press and politics. This year ten people were given Goldsmith Research Awards. They are: Rosalind Barnett, Brandeis University and Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study; Peter Eng, Freelance Reporter; David Niven, Florida Atlantic University; Caryl Rivers, Boston University; Evelyn Simien, Purdue University; Lynn Vavreck, Dartmouth College; Brian C. White, University of Illinois at Chicago; Mark A. Wolfgram, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Julian E. Zelizer, SUNY-Albany and Jeremy Zilber, College of William and Mary.
In addition to these monetary prizes, the Goldsmith Program also presents the Goldsmith Career Award for Excellence in Journalism, which was given this year to Bill Kovach, Curator, Nieman Foundation, Harvard University.
The annual Goldsmith Awards Program receives financial support from the Goldsmith-Greenfield Foundation. The Shorenstein Center was established in 1986 to promote greater understanding of the media by public officials, improve coverage by media professionals of government and politics, better anticipate the consequences of public policies that affect the media and the First Amendment, and to increase knowledge about how the media affect our political processes and government institutions.


John F. Kennedy School of Government 79 John F. Kennedy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
617-495-1100 Get Directions Visit Contact Page