Harvard Kennedy School Dean David T. Ellwood Awarded 2009 Daniel Moynihan Prize

Contact: Doug Gavel
Phone: (617) 495-1115
Date: April 23, 2009

CAMBRIDGE, MA. – David T. Ellwood, dean of the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, has been selected by the American Academy of Political and Social Science as winner of the 2009 Daniel Moynihan Prize. The Prize will be awarded at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. on May 7.

The $20,000 Prize was created by the Academy to honor public officials and social scientists who have consistently used the findings of social science research to improve public policy for the betterment of the human condition. It is intended to honor the legacy of Senator Moynihan by recognizing those who champion the use of sound analysis to serve the public good.

Douglas S. Massey, president of the Academy and professor of sociology and public affairs at Princeton University, cited Ellwood, saying that he “embodies the spirit of the Moynihan Prize by combining first rate social science and direct engagement in public policy with a firm moral sensibility and a deep concern for the public good.”

“I am deeply honored to have been selected to receive the Moynihan Prize,” said Ellwood. “Senator Moynihan was a dedicated public servant who helped lead the war on poverty in America. His tireless efforts laid the groundwork for the important issues that many of us continue to grapple with today.”

Ellwood has served as dean of Harvard Kennedy School since 2004, and has been a member of the faculty since 1980. He served as Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services from 1993-95. He is recognized as one of the nation’s leading scholars on poverty and welfare, and his work has been credited with significantly influencing public policy in the United States and abroad.

A native of Minnesota who earned both his bachelor’s degree and Ph.D. from Harvard, Ellwood was recipient of the David N. Kershaw Award, given by the Association of Public Policy Analysis and Management to outstanding individuals under the age of 40 who have made a distinguished contribution to the field of public policy. He also received the Morris and Edna Zale Award for Outstanding Distinction in Scholarship and Public Service from Stanford University.

Ellwood is the second recipient of the Moynihan Prize. Alice M. Rivlin, founding director of the Congressional Budget Office and former director of the White House Office of Management and Budget, was winner of the inaugural Prize last year.

The American Academy of Political and Social Sciencewas founded in Philadelphia in 1889 with the objective of promoting the progress of the social sciences and using social science knowledge in the enrichment of public understanding and in the development of public policy. For more information, visit: www.aapss.org

Harvard Kennedy School maintains an abiding commitment to advancing the public interest by training skilled, enlightened leaders and solving public problems through world-class scholarship and active engagement with practitioners and decision makers. The school offers the depth, reflection, insight, and excellence of ideas and teaching that can shape future leaders, affect public policies, and make an impact on people and their daily lives. For more information, visit: www.hks.harvard.edu


John F. Kennedy School of Government 79 John F. Kennedy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
617-495-1100 Get Directions Visit Contact Page