Karen Dillon Wins Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting

Contact: Doug Gavel
Phone: 617-495-1115
Date: March 13, 2001

CAMBRIDGE, MASS - The $25,000 Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting has been awarded to Karen Dillon from The Kansas City Star by the Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government. Dillon’s award-winning investigative report "To Protect and Collect" examined a controversial police practice of keeping money seized during drug raids.
Launched in 1991, the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting honors journalism which promotes more effective and ethical conduct of government, the making of public policy, or the practice of politics by disclosing excessive secrecy, impropriety and mismanagement, or instances of particularly commendable government performance.
The other finalists for the Prize for Investigative Reporting were: Ken Armstrong and Steve Mills, of The Chicago Tribune for "The Failure of the Death Penalty in Illinois" and "State of Execution: The Death Penalty in Texas"; Renee Ferguson, NBC 5 Chicago (WMAQ-TV), for "Strip Searched at O’Hare"; Mark Katches, William Heisel, Ronald Campbell, Sharon Henry, Michael Goulding, Rebecca Allen and Tracy Wood, of The Orange County Register for "The Body Brokers"; Brian Ross, Rhonda Schwartz, Vic Walter, Jill Rackmill, David Scott, Dawn Goeb, Jud Marvin, Gary Fairman, John DeTarzio, Dow Haynor, Stuart Schutzman, Paul Slavin and Paul Friedman of ABC News, World News Tonight, for "The Money Trail"; and Andrew Schneider and Carol Smith of The Seattle Post-Intelligencer for "Uncivil Action."
In addition, the $5,000 Goldsmith Book Prize was awarded to Lawrence R. Jacobs, Associate Professor of Political Science at the University of Minnesota and Robert Y. Shapiro, Professor of Political Science and Associate Director of the Institute for Social and Economic
Theory and Research at Columbia University for "Politicians Don’t Pander: Political Manipulation and the Loss of Democratic Responsiveness" (University of Chicago, 2000). The Goldsmith Book Prize is awarded to the best book that seeks to improve the quality of government or politics through an examination of the press and politics in the formation of public policy.
The Goldsmith Awards Program also grants monetary awards for post-graduate research on the intersection of press and politics. This year six people were given Goldsmith Research Awards. They are: David Domke, University of Washington; David E. Markus, Harvard University; Robert John McKee, University of Illinois at Chicago; Rebecca Medina, Harvard University; Brian Schaffner, Indiana University and Eric N. Waltenburg, Purdue University.
In addition to these monetary prizes, the Goldsmith Program also presents the Goldsmith Career Award for Excellence in Journalism, which was given this year to Ted Turner, Vice Chairman and Senior Advisor of AOL Time Warner.
The annual Goldsmith Awards Program receives financial support from the Goldsmith-Greenfield Foundation. The Shorenstein Center was established in 1986 to promote greater understanding of the media by public officials, improve coverage by media professionals of government and politics, better anticipate the consequences of public policies that affect the media and the First Amendment, and to increase knowledge about how the media affect our political processes and government institutions.


John F. Kennedy School of Government 79 John F. Kennedy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
617-495-1100 Get Directions Visit Contact Page