Social Entrepreneur and Acclaimed Economist Named Winners of 2012 Neustadt and Schelling Awards

Contact: Doug Gavel
Phone: (617) 495-1115
Date: March 22, 2012

CAMBRIDGE, MA – A pioneer in the field of social entrepreneurship and one of the world's most eminent economists and philosophers are recipients of the 2012 Richard E. Neustadt and Thomas C. Schelling Awards. The awards will be presented May 3 during a dinner hosted by Dean David T. Ellwood of Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government.
William “Bill” Drayton, founder and CEO of Ashoka: Innovators for the Public, will receive the Richard E. Neustadt Award. The award is bestowed annually to an individual who has created powerful solutions to public problems, drawing on research and intellectual ideas as appropriate. Past recipients include Dr. Judith Gueron (2005), Dr. Muhammad Yunus (2006), Justice Richard J. Goldstone (2007), Gro Harlem Brundtland (2008), Alice M. Rivlin (2009), and Paul Volcker KSG 1951 (2011).
Amartya Sen, the Thomas W. Lamont University Professor at Harvard University, will be presented with the Thomas C. Schelling Award, bestowed annually to an individual whose remarkable intellectual work has had a transformative impact on public policy. Past recipients include Judge Richard Posner (2005), Dr. Daniel Kahneman (2006), Professor Jagdish Bhagwati (2007), Professor Howard Raiffa (2008), Harold Varmus (2009) and Esther Duflo (2011).
Each recipient will be awarded a $25,000 prize intended to support their important research.
Funding for the awards has been provided by the David Rubenstein Fund for Kennedy School Excellence. The fund was established in 2004 by a generous $10 million gift from David M. Rubenstein, co-founder and managing director of the Carlyle Group, one of the world’s largest private equity firms.
“The Schelling and Neustadt awards are given in the names of two people who were instrumental in the creation of the modern Kennedy School,” said David T. Ellwood, Dean of the school. “It is in their spirit that we recognize this year’s extraordinary recipients, both of whom have dedicated their lives and careers to the pursuit of knowledge and serving the public good. We are proud to honor their remarkable contributions to our nation and our world.”
William “Bill” Draytonis a longtime social entrepreneur who was named as one of America's 25 Best Leaders in 2005 by U.S. News & World Report and Harvard Kennedy School's Center for Public Leadership. He is the founder and CEO of Ashoka: Innovators for the Public, a nonprofit organization dedicated to identifying and fostering social entrepreneurs across the globe, and also serves as chair of Youth Venture, Community Greens and Get America Working! Drayton is a graduate of Harvard College and received an MA from Balliol College, Oxford and a JD from Yale Law School. He began his professional career as a manager and management consultant, working for McKinsey and Company for almost ten years. From 1977-81 Drayton served as an Assistant Administrator for the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) where he helped launched emissions trading (the basis of the Kyoto Protocol) and other reforms.
Amartya Sen, the Thomas W. Lamont University Professor at Harvard University and Professor of Economics and Philosophy, is an Indian economist who was awarded the 1998 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences for his contributions to the understanding of welfare economics and social choice theory. He is recognized for his work on the causes of famine and is credited with helping create the United Nations Human Development Index. Sen's research has ranged over social choice theory, economic theory, ethics and political philosophy, welfare economics, theory of measurement, decision theory, development economics, and gender studies. His books have been translated into more than thirty languages over the past 40 years, and he was cited by Time Magazine in its 2010 list of “The World's Most Influential People” and by New Statesmen in 2010 as one of “The 50 People Who Matter.”
The 2012 Neustadt and Schelling Awards Selection Committee is comprised of:
Vartan Gregorian(chair), president, Carnegie Corporation of New York; president of Brown University (1989-97); founding dean (1974), provost (1978-81), Faculty of Arts and Sciences, University of Pennsylvania; and president, New York Public Library (1981-89).
R. Glenn Hubbard, Russell L. Carson Professor of Finance and Economics and dean, Columbia University Business School; chair, U.S. Council of Economic Advisors (2001-03).
Nannerl Keohane, Laurance S. Rockefeller Distinguished Visiting Professor of Public Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School of Public & International Affairs, Princeton University; president, Wellesley College (1981-93); president, Duke University (1993-2004).
Donna Shalala, professor of political science and president of the University of Miami; U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services (1993-2001).
• Paul Volcker, chair, President's Economic Recovery Advisory Board (2009-11); chairman, U.S. Federal Reserve (1979-87).
Richard Neustadt, Douglas Dillon Professor of Government, was an eminent presidential scholar and advisor to three U.S. presidents who served as founding director of the Institute of Politics from 1965-71. He served as associate dean of the Kennedy School until 1975. He died in November 2003.
Thomas Schelling, Lucius N. Littauer Professor of Political Economy, Emeritus, is internationally renowned for his work on game theory, specifically in regards to the dangers of nuclear war. He received the 2005 Nobel Prize for Economics. Schelling has held various positions in the White House and the Executive Office of the President, and is now Distinguished University Professor at the University Of Maryland School Of Public Policy.


John F. Kennedy School of Government 79 John F. Kennedy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
617-495-1100 Get Directions Visit Contact Page