Newly Elected Members of Congress Attending Harvard Congressional Issues Conference

Contact: Esten Perez
Phone: (617) 496-4009
Date: December 03, 2008

Cambridge, MA – Forty newly elected members of Congress from states across the country will gather this week at the Institute of Politics (IOP), located at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, for a conference focusing on exercising leadership in Congress and the issues that they will face.

“We are pleased to welcome so many new members of Congress to Harvard,” said Institute of Politics Director Bill Purcell. “This conference offers new U.S. House members an opportunity to gain critical insights from academics, top policymakers and political practitioners on the pressing issues they are facing.”

The 18th biennial Program for Newly Elected Members of Congress will run from Tuesday evening, December 2 through Friday afternoon, December 5 at Harvard Kennedy School. The new members of Congress will participate in a variety of sessions, led by academics, practitioners, and current and former members of the U.S. House of Representatives. Topics will include the economy and sessions on the federal budget, education, energy and national security, and numerous other individual policy matters.

Participating newly elected members of Congress (listed alphabetically by state) include: Parker Griffith (AL-5, D), Ann Kirpatrick (AZ-01, D), Jackie Speier (CA-12, D), Laura Richardson (CA-37, D), Jared Polis (CO-02, D), Mike Coffman (CO-06, R), Jim Himes (CT-04, D), Alan Grayson (FL-8, D), Bill Posey (FL-15, R), Tom Rooney (FL-16, R), Suzanne Kosmas (FL-24, D), Debbie Halvorson (IL-11, D), Bill Foster (IL-14, D), Aaron Schock (IL-18, R), Steve Scalise (LA-01, R), Niki Tsongas (MA-05, D), Frank Kratovil (MD-01, D), Chellie Pingree (ME-01, D), Mark Schauer (MI-07, D), Gary Peters (MI-09, D), Erik Paulsen (MN-03, R), Larry Kissell (NC-08, D), John Adler (NJ-03, D), Leonard Lance (NJ-07, R), Martin Heinrich (NM-01, D), Harry Teague (NM-02, D), Ben Lujan (NM-03, D), Paul Tonko (NY-21, D), Dan Maffei (NY-25, D), Chris Lee (NY-26, R), Steve Driehaus (OH-1, D), Marcia Fudge (OH-11, D), John Boccieri (OH-16, D), Kathy Dahlkemper (PA-03, D), Pedro Pierluisi (PR-AL, D), Jason Chaffetz (UT-03, R), Glenn Nye (VA-2, D), Tom Perriello (VA-05, D), Gerry Connolly (VA-11, D), Cynthia Lummis (WY-AL, R).


John F. Kennedy School of Government 79 John F. Kennedy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
617-495-1100 Get Directions Visit Contact Page