Former U.S.Senators Richard Lugar and Sam Nunn and Princeton Professor Sara McLanahan Named Winners of 2013 Neustadt and Schelling Awards

Contact: Doug Gavel
Phone: (617) 495-1115
Date: February 26, 2013

CAMBRIDGE, MA – Two former U.S. senators and an esteemed sociologist are recipients of the 2013 Richard E. Neustadt and Thomas C. Schelling Awards. The awards will be presented May 2 during a ceremony in Cambridge hosted by Harvard Kennedy School (HKS) Dean David T. Ellwood. 

Former Senators Richard Lugar (R-IN) and Sam Nunn (D-GA), who spearheaded bipartisan efforts in Congress to secure dangerous nuclear weapons and materials in the former Soviet Union, will receive the Richard E. Neustadt Award. The award is bestowed annually to honor one or more individuals for creating powerful solutions to public problems, drawing on research and intellectual ideas as appropriate. Past recipients include Dr. Judith Gueron (2005), Dr. Muhammad Yunus (2006), Justice Richard J. Goldstone (2007), Gro Harlem Brundtland (2008), Alice M. Rivlin (2009), Paul Volcker (2011), and William “Bill” Drayton (2012). 

Sara McLanahan, the William S. Tod Professor of sociology and public affairs at Princeton University, best known for her work on the impact of family structure on social inequality and the roles that public policies can play in addressing the needs of families and children, will be presented with the Thomas C. Schelling Award, bestowed annually to an individual whose remarkable intellectual work has had a transformative impact on public policy. Past recipients include Judge Richard Posner (2005),  Professor Daniel Kahneman (2006), Professor Jagdish Bhagwati (2007), Professor Howard Raiffa (2008), Nobel laureate Professor Harold Varmus (2009), Professor Esther Duflo (2011), and Professor Amartya Sen (2012). 

McLanahan will be awarded a $25,000 prize, while Lugar and Nunn will share a $25,000 prize intended to support their important work. 

Funding for the awards has been provided by the David Rubenstein Fund for Kennedy School Excellence. The fund was established in 2004 by a generous $10 million gift from David M. Rubenstein, co-founder and managing director of the Carlyle Group, one of the world’s largest private equity firms. 

“The Schelling and Neustadt awards are given in the names of two people who were instrumental in the creation of the modern Kennedy School,” said David T. Ellwood, Dean of the school. “It is in their spirit that we recognize this year’s extraordinary recipients, all three of whom have worked on behalf of the public good, dedicating their lives and careers to the pursuit of knowledge and to helping solve public problems. We are proud to honor their remarkable contributions to our nation and our world.”

Richard Lugar (R-IN) served six terms in the U.S. Senate (Jan. 1977-Jan. 2013), during which time he twice served as chairman of the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations and is now the President of the Lugar Center. Sam Nunn (D-GA) served four terms in the U.S. Senate (Nov. 1982-Jan. 1997), rising to the position of chairman of the Senate Committee on Armed Services, and now serves as chief executive officer of the Nuclear Threat Initiative (NTI), an organization working to reduce the global threats posed by nuclear, biological and chemical weapons. In 1991, the two men co-sponsored legislation creating the Nunn-Lugar Cooperative Threat Reduction Program, which provides funding for Russia and other former Soviet states to decommission and dismantle nuclear, biological and chemical stockpiles. 

Sara McLanahan is the William S. Tod professor of sociology and public affairs at Princeton University, where she directs the Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing. She is also the principal investigator on the Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study and editor-in-chief of The Future of Children, a journal dedicated to providing research and analysis to promote effective policies and programs for children. Her research focuses on the causes and consequences of non-traditional family structures. She is the author of "Single Mothers and their Children: A New American Dilemma," (with Irwin Garfinkel), "Growing Up with a Single Parent," (with Gary Sandefur), and more than 100 articles. 

The 2013 Neustadt and Schelling Awards Selection Committee is comprised of: 

  • Vartan Gregorian (chair), president, Carnegie Corporation of New York; president of Brown University (1989-97); founding dean (1974), provost (1978-81), Faculty of Arts and Sciences, University of Pennsylvania; and president, New York Public Library (1981-89).
  • R. Glenn Hubbard, Russell L. Carson Professor of Finance and Economics and dean, Columbia University Business School; chair, U.S. Council of Economic Advisors (2001-03).
  • Nannerl Keohane, Laurance S. Rockefeller Distinguished Visiting Professor of Public Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School of Public & International Affairs, Princeton University; president, Wellesley College (1981-93); president, Duke University (1993-2004).
  • Donna Shalala, professor of political science and president of the University of Miami; U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services (1993-2001).
  • Paul Volcker, chair, President's Economic Recovery Advisory Board (2009-11); chairman, U.S. Federal Reserve (1979-87). 

Richard Neustadt, Douglas Dillon professor of government, was an eminent presidential scholar and advisor to three U.S. presidents who served as founding director of the Institute of Politics from 1965-71. He served as associate dean of the Kennedy School until 1975. He died in November 2003. 

Thomas Schelling, Lucius N. Littauer professor of political economy, emeritus, is internationally renowned for his work on game theory, specifically in regards to the dangers of nuclear war. He received the 2005 Nobel Prize for Economics. Schelling has held various positions in the White House and the Executive Office of the President, and is now distinguished university professor at the University Of Maryland School Of Public Policy.


John F. Kennedy School of Government 79 John F. Kennedy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
617-495-1100 Get Directions Visit Contact Page