Harvard Interfaculty Partnership

With generous support from the Office of the Provost, the Program in Criminal Justice (PCJ) has convened a new community known as the Harvard Interfaculty Partnership on Crime and Justice (HIP).

Each of the members conducts research or instruction within the broad scope of crime and justice policy and management at Harvard with emphasis on some combination of to crime, justice, safety, security, rights, and rule of law. The faculty are drawn from the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS) and Harvard Kennedy School (HKS) / John F. Kennedy School of Government, as well as the professional schools of business (HBS), law (HLS), public health (HSPH), and medicine (HMS). The HIP on Crime and Justice gathers members on a regular basis to share research agendas and to establish new relationships built on common areas of interest.

  1. Deborah Azrael*, Associate Director, Harvard Youth Violence Prevention Center (HSPH)
  2. David Barron*, Professor of Law (HLS)
  3. Jacqueline Bhabha, Professor of the Practice of Health and Human Rights (HSPH); Jeremiah Smith Jr. Lecturer (HLS); University Adviser on Human Rights Education, Director of Research, FXB Center
    Carr Center for Human Rights Policy (HKS)
  4. Lawrence D. Bobo, W. E. B. Du Bois Professor of the Social Sciences (FAS)
  5. Rafael Di Tella, Joseph C. Wilson Professor of Business Administration (HBS)
  6. Felton Earls, Emeritus Professor of Human Behavior and Development (HSPH)
  7. Richard Freeman, Herbert Ascherman Professor of Economics (FAS); Faculty Director, Labor and Worklife Program (HLS)
  8. Stephen Goldsmith, Daniel Paul Professor of Government (HKS); Director, Innovations in American Government Program
  9. David Hemenway*, Professor of Health Policy (HSPH); Director, Harvard Injury Control Research Center and the Harvard Youth Violence Prevention Center
  10. Philip Heymann*, James Barr Ames Professor of Law (HLS)
  11. Jennifer Hochschild, Henry LaBarre Jayne Professor of Government (FAS); Professor of African and African American Studies
  12. Christopher Jencks, Malcolm Wiener Professor of Social Policy (HKS); Director, Program on Networked Governance
  13. Matthew Miller, Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology (HSPH); Co-Director, Harvard Injury Control Research Center
  14. Mark H. Moore, Hauser Professor of Nonprofit Organizations (HKS)
  15. Charles Ogletree, Jesse Climenko Professor of Law (HLS); Director, Charles Hamilton Houston Institute for Race and Justice
  16. Devah Pager, Professor of Sociology (FAS); Professor of Public Policy (HKS)
  17. Robert Sampson*, Henry Ford II Professor of the Social Sciences (FAS), Chair, Department of Sociology
  18. Vincent Schiraldi, Senior Research Fellow, Program in Criminal Justice Policy and Management (HKS)
  19. Malcolm Sparrow, Professor of Practice of Public Management (HKS)
  20. Carol Steiker, Howard J. and Katherine W. Aibel Professor of Law (HLS)
  21. Ronald S. Sullivan, Clinical Professor of Law (HLS); Director, Harvard Criminal Justice Institute
  22. Cory Way*, Lecturer on Sociology (FAS); and Dean of Kirkland House and Affiliated Faculty for Program on the Legal Profession (HLS)
  23. Bruce Western, Professor of Sociology (FAS); Director, Malcolm Wiener Center for Social Policy, Daniel and Florence Guggenheim Professor of Criminal Justice, and Faculty Director, Program in Criminal Justice Policy and Management (HKS)
  24. Alex Whiting, Assistant Clinical Professor of Law (HLS)
  25. Julie Wilson*, Harry Kahn Senior Lecturer in Social Policy (HKS)
  26. William Julius Wilson*, Lewis P. and Linda L. Geyser University Professor; Director, Joblessness and Urban Poverty Research Program (HKS)
  27. Christopher Winship*, Diker-Tishman Professor of Sociology (FAS)

* indicates Program in Criminal Justice Faculty Affiliates